mobo 2 cpu spaces :S

By topps999
Mar 26, 2007
  1. i was lookin at a mobo other day worth like 240 pounds, and it had 2 cpu spaces -.- was that a special one or are they getting made like that now :S imagine it...
    4 x 3.3, 2x 6600 -.- on 2 x 8800gts !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NICE
  2. honvetops

    honvetops TS Rookie

    I think I've read that there are some, can you find it online and link a pic so we can check it out?
    i have not seen one myself*
  3. LinkedKube

    LinkedKube TechSpot Project Baby Posts: 3,481   +44

    I've seen these mobos but they are for server intended processors, xeon and and the amd equivelent
  4. honvetops

    honvetops TS Rookie

    probably why "we" haven't seen em!!! ;-) thanks 4 info

    ICUB4UCME TS Rookie

    as correctly stated above, they are intended for server applications. back before dual-core processors were all the rage they built dual-cpu systems. systems that did pretty much exactly the same thing but instead of having 2 cpu cores on a single chip, they had to use two individual chips. they are still using that practice coupled with multi-core technology today. you can get dual quad-core systems. so you'd be running 8 CPU cores, good luck putting them all to use though.
  6. MetalX

    MetalX TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,388

    That was either a dual Xeon motherboard, a dual Opteron motherboard, or it may have been the ASUS L1N64-SLI WS, which is a dual socket 1207 motherboard for AMD's Quad FX.
  7. topps999

    topps999 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 139

  8. honvetops

    honvetops TS Rookie

    the dual Xeon chips is what I think I remember......
    wait till the 8 cores come out this winter > I can't believe it* why in the hell do we need 8 chips ?
  9. topps999

    topps999 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 139

    8!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!! **** me!!!!!!! wdf is the point run 10 games at once? cant see point in 4 tbh dual core is plenty fast =]
  10. HPCE_Larry

    HPCE_Larry TS Rookie Posts: 132

    no its not for gaming. Its for servers that need to deal with thousands of requests, or work stations which are rendering scenes with millions of poly's and textures for movie quality productions.
  11. topps999

    topps999 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 139

    ahh ^^ lol makes sense now, but could u run it for gamin? O.o
  12. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 10,689   +395

    Yeh you could game with it. It is likely that not all the cores would be utilized, meaning you'd not see any performance gain. UNLESS you were doing video transcoding in the background, but if you were doing that, you'd need some fast hard drives to prevent that from being your bottleneck.
  13. topps999

    topps999 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 139

    kool, i bet if u had 8 cores, 2x 8800gtx i bet u wudnt get much lag :cool: O.o o.O xD :D
  14. deeps1987

    deeps1987 TS Rookie Posts: 109

    lol cant imagine having 8 cores running at once for a home pc, so pointless lol but yet so funny.
    iv seen them to, i was watching a amd opteron presentation (yes i was bored) i thought about it, but 8 cores? i dont see the point in 4, dual core is more than enough for general use.
    but still, if i could, and i had the money, i would lol just to say, yes, i have 8 cores on my pc, beat that lol.
    aww sorry guys, just such a funny idea, any suggestions of what you could run to use the power of all of them? other than for server use.
  15. topps999

    topps999 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 139

    mayb 5 x 1000 thermaltak psus ? lol or a direct link to mains? lmfao! but yes if i couldi wud get 8 to brag =]
  16. deeps1987

    deeps1987 TS Rookie Posts: 109

    lol screw that, 5 PSU's? make it 8 for good measure once each, sharing sucks :p imagine the size of the case lol
    lol mains power seems like a good idea too. oh and forget conventional heatsinks and fans, liquid nitrogen cooling :D
    good idea?
  17. topps999

    topps999 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 139

    mayb a cuboard to put it all in lol!
    i wonder if u can run more then 2 gpu cards wif 8 cores umm? O.o lol
    i bet it wud be more fun to make each core a 3.3 6600 intel dual core so...

    8 x 6600

    16 x 3.3 dual cores :O!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 lmfao
  18. deeps1987

    deeps1987 TS Rookie Posts: 109

    lmfao omg sold, i want one, my cupboard is full of ****e anyway lol, clothes, the usual, i want 16 cores and 2 8800GTX's lol the overkill is halirious
  19. nickc

    nickc TechSpot Paladin Posts: 923   +11

    u got it !!!!!!!!!!!!! halirious
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...