Monitor vs. TV

Status
Not open for further replies.

jtr690

This is my second post. I have decided to build my own custom pc for gaming. I am new to pc gaming and I'm sick of cheap PC's. But I can't figure out what i should get for a player. Right now I have a 4 year old 20" plasma and its time to upgrade. I have a ps3 and 360 and would love to have 1 tv/moniter to save space and money. Keeping it under $1000

What I would like in a moniter:
Full 1080p
Tv Tuner
HDMI ports
40" +
Very good picture quality for pc and ps3/360

From my researching I've only found one close to any of these
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4642653&CatId=3774

Only problem is it doesn't have a tv tuner so its just a giant moniter that i cant watch tv on. If i could get this to play tv then i would be all over it.

Am I just better off getting a really nice 20" monitor and getting a big 40" t.v. later?
Or Should I go with Something that's all of the above list just small like 26". The reason why i am so concerned with size is because i have pretty bad eyesight already. And a very odd shaped room lol. Or can a TV play just as good as a monitor? Cause that would work for me too. Tell me what you guys think, I'm sure you all know best

Thx for any help

Does the $1000 include the PC and monitor or just the monitor? It is possible to include a TV card in you new PC that will allow you to watch TV and see the computer on one monitor

Does the $1000 include the PC and monitor or just the monitor? It is possible to include a TV card in you new PC that will allow you to watch TV and see the computer on one monitor
No just the monitor/tv for $1000, as long as its a monitor with everything on list.
As for the device you talking about. Do I plug it into pc? Because i just want a monitor that works like a normal tv. I don't plan on keeping my pc on 24/7

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4642653&CatId=3774