Need advice, Overclocked 4800 x2 at 2.72ghz will it go higher?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DFeKTiVe

Just overclocked my amd 4800 x2 2.4ghz to 2.724ghz at 1.4v anyone got any tips in getting higher, or know wat this chip is actually capable of? This is my first overclock. Is there anything in particular i should know about these dual core chips.?

Questions,

Whats the cause when system reboots itself? voltage? - FSB to High?
Whats the cause when sytem it locks up or freezes? memory?

Thanks Guys :)

how are the temps , as allways theres no qurentee what you will do as each board varies from one to the other . allways check the temps , cpu , Nb , ram and mosfets ( kind of odd one them are but they do get warm or hot and a lot of people overlook these lil guys ). apply volts only when nessery and watch them temps constantly ......

im new at all this so bare with me, but i dnt have anything to tell me cpu temp, for some reason on my motherboard disk when i try to install pc probe 2 it says " Fail to install IO driver" i dont understand this. Please help

Motherboard is A8N32-SLI Deluxe running 64-bit windows i've read in other forums that people have got 2.8+ , i cant go any higher than 2.7 , i hae no idea wat to do with memory, ive read how to tweak ur memory by "Impaqt" but i dont understand it. is the memory number best at low or high?, and when i use a64 tweaker, how does that tell me which is the best performance, what does the * mean next to numbers. as soon as i change the number on the 4 primary, it locks up.

Which version of the probe are you using? Do you know if it supports x64 windows? You can get the latest version here - http://www.tweaksrus.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=361&Itemid=1
I'm not an expert in OC'ing, but isn't 1.4V a little too low? My Athlon 64 3000+ Venice uses 1.6V i think (it's not overclocked).