Need to move my hd to another computer, need to rescue files

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I have a computer that got messed up, some of the windows files are corrupt or missing, long story short couldn't fix it and I want to remove the hard drive and plug it into another computer and simply use the working computer, (I imagine a new drive would show up in “my computer” where i could simply drag and drop files to the working hd) and recovery a bunch of files that are in that drive with the screwed up OS, does anyone know if this is as easy as it sounds or will I need to do something fancy in order for this to work, both computers use windows XP, but they are slightly different versions of windows, i dunno if that'll be a problem

p.s I have a little experience with upgrading and building computers but I’ve never done this before, I’m afraid I might damage or erase that HD :O
also another option i could do is use an external HD I have (250gb), plug it into the screwed up computer, and some how use a bootdisk with a easy graphic interface to drag my files to my external hd, but i don't know of any such boot disk :( or if that' even possible?

I imagine a new drive would show up in “my computer” where i could simply drag and drop files to the working hd
Most of the time that is what's going to happen, unless the file-system on the drive is corrupt. If it's just windows system files that are missing, you might want to try a repair install.

also another option i could do is use an external HD I have (250gb), plug it into the screwed up computer, and some how use a bootdisk with a easy graphic interface to drag my files to my external hd
You could use any Linux distro that has a live-CD.

Have your tried running Windows in Repair mode? Usually you can get a defective or corrupted drive working well enough to save the key files and directories to a flash drive.