Networkin Problem SP2

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi spike thanks for the reply,

what i did was bring up ipconfig on the host machine (i have no router) just connected using a crossova, rite i brang ipconfig up and wrote the details down and put em in the TCP/IP thingie on the guest machine... its connected now

BUT i cant view anything on the network???

help.....

OK, this could be a silly question, but it eliminates the obvious, which we can all sometimes forget...

How are you trying to see something on the network/ what are you trying to see?

Can you see both computers in the workgroup from the server machine, and can you see both computers in the workgroup from the client machine?

well im new to this network thing, but i have an understanding of ips pinging and all that so i have yet again been playing about and checked the ip settings for both.... this is wat i got in ipconfig,

connection specific DNS suffix :
IP address : 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway : 1.0.0.0

ITS EXACTLY the same on the other machine. :dead:

ne ideas, and im just lookin in my computer for a drive and checking to see if i can access the internet :S is this wrong?

Try setting those IP's Manually :) It's worth a shot. Just make a note of what they are now and if it doesn't work you can go back to where you were.

I assume though that you've tried the network setup wizard?

For the TCP/IP properties, make...

The internet server machine
IP address : 192.168.0.1
Default Gateway : leave blank

and the client machine
IP address : 192.168.0.2
Default Gateway : 192.168.0.1

This assumes that you've already enabled file and printer sharing.

once both machines are set to this, reboot them both.

once rebooted, go to My Network Places, and from the options on the left, view computers in the workgroup.