New computer zapped...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just finished building my new PC which just arrived, but when I turned it on, the fans ran for awhile, it made an almost inaudible beep, then it shut down. I unplugged the front panel USB connections and tried again, this time only fan LEDs came on then immediately off. Then I realized I hadn't plugged in the SLI bridge and did so, tried again, but again, only LEDs, and this time the PC made some sparking noises. I noted when I installed the CPU that it made a straining noise. I immediately stopped what I was doing and checked it, but it was properly aligned. I rechecked it several times. I may have bent the motherboard a little too much installing the heatsink and fan, I don't know. Is it OK to use the male power plugs that come from fans? I have no floppy drive. I have the mobo on SLI mode.
This is my first time building a PC. I saved for months for this thing, and I feel horrible. Please help.

Specs:

Case: Thermaltake XaserV Wingo V7000D
PSU: Enermax EG701AX-VE-SFMA Noisetaker 600W
CPU: Pentium 4 640
Motherboard: MSI P4N SLI
RAM: 4x Corsair CM2X512-5400C4 512MB DDR2-667 XMS2-5400
Video card: 2x BFG GeForce 7800 GTX OC
Hard drive 1: Western Digital Raptor WD740GD 74GB SATA 10,000RPM w/8MB buffer
Hard drive 2: Western Digital Caviar WD800JD 80GB SATA 7200RPM w/8MB buffer

I set the mobo on non-sli mode, removed the second video card, and unplugged every front panel wire except power sw. Tried it again, nothing.

Hello

Welcome to the world of Computer maddness...
Looks to me like you did some home work.
You've got some very good equipment there.

I can only suggest a bare bones setup with clear cmos.
only the cpu, 1xvideo, one stick ram, psu just to get
you to a bios screen. Make sure nothing else is connected
by power or data cable..Hopefully you cam rma any bad componants.
Do you have the means to test any new parts on a diff machine?

I generally install the cpu/heatsink & fan outside the box