Newbie question about connection a sound card and to a stereo

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a newbie to PC audio and to this board, so thank you to any assistance ahead of time.

I want to connect my computer to my stereo so I can listen to my digital music through my house (my stereo has speakers in the walls throughout my house). I've tried wireless and I've given up - my walls are too thick and the quality is just poor enough to annoy me. So now I'm left with wanting to run a cable through my basement from my den to my living room (about 40 feet of cable is needed). I've run the monster cable and it works. However the sound quality is poor at best. I think it is probably my sound card. I have a Dell 8500 with the standard integrated sound card. I'm no audiophile, but I want to get decent sound. I'm not a gamer and I don't want to spend $100 on a complex gaming sound card. Am I correct in thinking that a sound card could make a difference? And what kind of sound card can help for this? I see SoundBlaster Live! cards for $15 on ebay - would these help? I just have so little experience with sound cards that I don't know what makes a difference.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Mark

I actually have this:
http://www.govideo.com/Index.asp?GV=D2740

And it works so-so, but with my thick walls, the connection is not strong enough to prevent gaps and skipping and dropped connections. I've tried range extenders, external antennas, upgrading my router... After trying this solution for about 6 months, I've given up.

I've tried hooking up my laptop to the 50 foot cable, and then I tried hooking up my laptop to a 3 foot cable. Both times the sound was the same medicore quality so I figure that the cable (which is a high quality Monster cable) is not the limiting factor.