TechSpot

Newbie questions about Wi-Fi for a custom computer build

By LoneSword
Mar 22, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. Okay, so I've recently been examining the Desktop PC Buying Guide for the past few days, particularly the Enthusiast's PC. The thing is, though, I have a very important question that makes me look like a total noob:

Do most motherboards have wireless internet capability already wired in?

I mean, as far as my knowledge goes, they don't. The motherboard on my Asus laptop is obviously made by Asus, while its Wi-Fi adapter is made by Intel, not to mention I've seen plenty of hardware Wi-Fi cards for the motherboard. The trouble is, I was reading in one of the articles about a motherboard that had Wi-Fi capability. Or, at least I THOUGHT it did; it's pretty likely I've misconstrued things a little.

That is question number one. Question number two is, assuming that the Wi-Fi adapter is NOT built into the motherboard, what would be a good middle-of-the-line Wi-Fi adapter to purchase? It'd probably be important to add that I'm a relatively hardcore gamer, and I'd like an adapter with reasonably uninterrupted connectivity, and pretty decent speed.

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks!

2. Lokalaskurar

Lokalaskurar TS Enthusiast Posts: 616

Don't worry, we were all once n00bs :D

Answer no. 1: NO. Even newer motherboards usually do not have wireless capabilities built int. But: more and more are hitting the market with Wi-Fi built in, that's for sure. High-end motherboards can sometimes have built in Wi-Fi connection, you'll notice a small antennae-connector at the back if that's the case. And such motherboards are getting more common by the day.

But the average motherboard does not have built in Wi-Fi.