No sound from my computer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Please help.I am running xp home on an e machine comp with a IM845gl motherboard.I am relitivly new to computing and tried to help a friend with a sound problem over the phone.I went into volume control and clicked a few check boxes and while doing this i got a loud(ish) click from my speekers.I then lost all sound.Have I blown my on board sound card?Would buying a new sound card cure this or what????? Or can I rescue my on board sound card???? As I have said,I am new to this so any help would be greatfull,keep it simple guys.Thanks.mickyl.

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

I went into volume control and clicked a few check boxes

It sounds to me like you may have muted your sound.

Go back into your volume control and make sure the mute boxes, underneath each volume slider aren`t checked.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

Reply to Howard.

Thanks Howard,I tried that one and I had not muted anything.As I said,I got a click from the speaker when checking boxes,thats what makes me think I have blown my on board sound.Thanks anyway

Try uninstalling and reinstalling your sound drivers.

Also check in your device manager for any yellow exclamation or question marks next to your audio device.

Regards Howard :)

I have a similar problem

mickyl said:
Thanks Howard,I tried that one and I had not muted anything.As I said,I got a click from the speaker when checking boxes,thats what makes me think I have blown my on board sound.Thanks anyway