Not a bad motherboard or PSU. Still won't power up

I'm a tech with years of IT experience and I've built my fair share of computers over the years. I have a puzzling one I cannot get to the bottom of I'm afraid. I cannot for the life of me get this computer to power on. Here is a list of things I've tried and/or eliminated. The first thing to happen was quite strange. The computer would start when I first got it (it was a used system), but only after a few presses of the power button. I don't ever remember it powering up on the first press of the power button. It's an Intel DX38BT Extreme Series motherboard with a 64bit Intel CPU in it, 8 GB of RAM. FYI, the motherboard has a aux power on/off switch ON the motherboard itself used for testing at the labs - the manual recommends using the front panel switch however, obviously. Current state, the computer will not turn on at all. There are two LED's by the CPU that are for indicating a voltage regulator overheating and the CPU overheating. When I hit the power switch the VR Regulator LED blinks quickly (once) and that is all. Ok, here goes...

- Tested PSU, came back fine. Decided to use that PSU in another system to double check; would not boot up in the 2nd system. I replaced the PSU with a good one I know that works (of even higher wattage). Still doesn't boot up.

- Tried using onboard power switch, same result. Tried using the reset switch as a power switch, same result, so the switches are likely OK. I even removed all front panel switch connectors and tried to jumper the two power pins using a flathead screwdriver. Still doesn't boot up, no power, only a solid green light on the mobo when power is plugged in.

- Reseated all RAM sticks (although a system should still POST if a stick is bad) as well as CPU, same result.

- Replaced RAM with RAM I know works. Same clock speed, compatible with this motherboard. Again, if it's RAM, it shouldn't prevent the fans from spinning.