Outlook 2003--message text disappears when e-mail is sent

This is my first time posting here, so I apologize in advance for any faux pas in my postings. I'm in hopes that someone out there can help with this problem.

We've had several users in the office run into the problem of the message text disappearing from an e-mail when they send it. (No, it isn't user error.) No error messages appear, everything seems fine. However, when the user looks at the message in the Sent folder (to print it for reference or whatever), the text of the message is gone. The addressees receive blank messages. Any attachments are still attached, but the text of the message is not there.

What causes this? How do we fix it? Any ideas, anyone?

Thanks!

Yes, all the PCs this has happened on are clean--nothing shows up under Trend, Spybot, or HijackThis. It's too weird!

D Steir,
do a Google search for Office Update and this will take you to the MS Office update site. Check for needed updates and download and install them. This may solve your problem

Tried that--all updates had already been installed. Part of the problem is that the situation does not occur all the time. There is no rhyme or reason for its appearance. The addressees to whom the "blank" messages have ended up going are all different, so it's not a domain issue that I can tell. The users have been different each time. The PCs have been different ones each time. I cannot replicate the problem--I can't "make" the text of an e-mail message vanish when I hit "send." First time it happened, I put it down to user error, although I couldn't see how anyone could unwittingly delete all the text without knowing it and then hit "send." Second time, the user was very experienced. Third time, ditto. Fourth time, same ol' same ol'. I was wondering if it was an Outlook 2003 bug, but I can't find any reference to it on MS's site.