Overheating Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

ForeverSinX

My comp with the case closed reaches around 100 degrees celcius on the cpu according to the bios. With the case open and a fan on it I can get it down to 70 degrees or so if I also keep my house cold. My computer has had many BSOD's with random failures and stop errors. When I keep the temp down it seems to never crash on things my comp would normally crash on while it's case is on.

A pic of the bios settings while the case is off and with a fan is on it at room temp:
http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/3041/dsc01357bu5.jpg

An image of inside my comp and which way fans are blowing:
http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/5968/dsc01358fh4.jpg

I have a AMD athlon 64 x2 Core Processor 6400+ going 3.21 Ghz

Any idea on what to do? I'm not so great at the whole keeping my computer cool thing. What fans should I buy? What should I change? Etc.

Any help is very appreciated.

I'm far from an expert, really. This is a suggestion based purely on the observation of other machines (including my own) and a touch of common sense.

The average setup has a fan pulling air away from the heatsink, not blowing into it. To complicate that a bit more, your PSU blowing hot air directly into the path of your heatsink fan, which shouldn't be.

If I were you, I would do the following:

Buy a new PSU (ELT500AWT is solid) which has a rear exhaust fan (this is a large portion of your problem I'm sure). I would turn that side intake fan around so it was an exhaust fan and then install a front intake fan near the HDD cage if possible. If you're really feeling into it, replace the thermal compound you have on your heatsink with something such as Arctic Silver 5.

*Edit*