pick me out a videocard...

By jayno20
Oct 31, 2006
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I am in the market for a video card (PCI-E) i need to be able to buy it from dell.com... it has to be an ATI, it has to support SM 3.0 and i'd like for it to be under 250.00... im kind of new to the whole video card thing so please explain anything u can while making suggestions...
  2. zephead

    zephead TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,483

    i can't imagine the advantage, if any, of buying from dell.com unless you need a specialized card (low-profile cars are sold elsewhere). i reccomend checking out tigerdirect.com and newegg.com

    you're going to need to give us your system's detailed specs (include PSU ratings), your OS, and what you aspire to do with the new card (games, softwares you plan on running). without this information, i can't really tell you anything except to stick with good brands - gigabyte, asus, msi, ati, bfg (incomplete list, but more than enough variety there)
  3. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

    well the computer has a 3.0GHZ HT processoer 1 gig ram, and its windows xp, i want to game with it... i need to buy from dell cause i have credit there... it doesnt have to be tip top of the line video card, but something decent for under 250.00
  4. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    For around $20 more, u can get this card which is the creme-de-la-creme of today's cards. I have two 512MB versions in Crossfire and they rip through any game maxed out as if it were paper. However, if u want a cheaper but severely crippled version of the same card (since u still want a Radeon), consider this card. But the latter is seriously weak though and gets beaten by this card very easily, so I would recommend getting that instead of the Radeon. It's an NVIDIA card but it's really great and the best in the $200 price range.
  5. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

  6. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    What current card do u have? Also, are u sure u have PCi-E?
    Assuming u do have PCI-E, there won't be any problems in switching and so this card would be a better choice. It's the exact same card as the one u have posted, although there's a $10 price difference for some reason. Probably got something to do with the clocks I suppose. But anyways, from what I've heard the KO is the more stable one, since the CO has some heat-related problems due to the OCing. So get the KO and play it safe I guess.
  7. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

    alright, yeah i do have pcie im sure, i have an ati x300 right now i will probably be going with that nvidia card unless anyone has something to add.. i want it to be able to play current games at decent setttings
  8. cfitzarl

    cfitzarl TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,520   +9

    You'll save money if you buy elsewhere. May I suggest Newegg.com if you reside in the US. Dell tends to overprice many things.
  9. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

    i need to buy from dell because thats where i have credit and i have a 100 off coupon
  10. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

  11. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    No doubt. The 7900 GT completely DESTROYS the X1600 card. Get it :)
     
  12. nickslick74

    nickslick74 Newcomer, in training Posts: 883

    Yup, 7900 will walk all over that X1600. Just be sure your power supply is up to handling that card. Otherwise, reboot or BSOD city!
  13. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

  14. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    Ooh that X1950PRO is definitely more powerful than the 7900GT, but much more pricey though. If u can afford it, then go for it I say. Otherwise, the 7900GT is the next best one.
  15. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

    ok so the x1950 is the way to go then? from dell its actually 10 dollars cheaper than the 7900gt... so i should go with the x1950 pro then?
  16. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    Yeah I think u should get the X1950PRO instead.
  17. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

    my psu is a 350w will that card be ok with my power supply?
  18. nickslick74

    nickslick74 Newcomer, in training Posts: 883

    That may be pushing it. Generally, power supplies that come in pre-built machines tend to lower in quality. Depending on what else you have in your system, you may not have enough amps on the 12 volt line to power that card. You can go here to find out how many watts you need for your system. I can probably take a guess and say it will come out in the 350 to 400 watt range. I would aim a bit higher than what you need, so you don't over tax the psu. This is a good, inexpensive power supply.
     
  19. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

    that site makes it out to be 319watts with the x1950 video card... so does that mean i'd be ok? i'd rather not buy a psu unless i HAVE to..
  20. nickslick74

    nickslick74 Newcomer, in training Posts: 883

    Can you take a look inside your computer and read the sticker on the bottom of the power supply? Look for the amps on the 12+v line(s) asnd lets us know what it says.
  21. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

    ok i'll take a gander at that when i get home and let u know, thanks for the fast replies :) (i hope to get a new videocard and all this sorted out in time for SCDA release on the 9th)

    here is some info on my computer (not sure if this helps or if u still need me to read the info off my psu)

    http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim8400/SM/specs.htm#wp1052308

    +12VA = 18.0A

    +12VA & +12VB output is 28A


    does that tell u what u needed to know?
  22. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    I think that may be pushing it. A new PSU shouldn't cost u too much. Fortron FSP and Antec have 450W ones available for around $40-50.
  23. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

    what do i need to know to make sure i get one that will fit?
  24. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    If your old PSU is a standard ATX one, any normal PSU from Antec or Fortron for example should fit perfectly.
  25. jayno20

    jayno20 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 116

    how do i know if its a standard atx?
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.