Preferably free; web-based e-mail server?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Per Hansson

Staff member
Hi guys, a little background before I ask my question...

As you might be aware I'm an editor here at Techspot, that means I receive allot of mail, both legitimate and spam...

Using an e-mail-filtering program like Cloudmark SpamNET did make life allot easier for me. With one apparent drawback being that when I download mails from my Techspot account those mails are deleted from the server.

Since I'm quite often on the move and need access to my e-mails wherever I happen to currently be this proved to be quite a hassle, since I became locked to my home PC...

So therefore I setup my web based Yahoo account to also retrieve mail from the Techspot account and that works really good, now I have the freedom I want but with the drawback that was fixed with my other solution of using SpamNET… Catch 22 anyone?

If I don't check my Yahoo account every day those free 6mb of storage will soon have been filled up by both legitimate mail and spam. (Not to mention how much worse this has become with the recent Sobig.F virus where every mail is 100kb in size...)

Thus now I have the mobility but no spam filtering, so I also have to read about how to best please my partner which someone else than me seems to think they know better while looking for the legitimate mail...

What I had in mind was to set up my own SMTP server which I will have 100% control of, now the only question is what sort of software I should use... I.e. do you know of/have you tried a good (preferably free) web based e-mail server?

Absolutely best would be if the company making it had servers that worked under Windows, Linux, and perhaps even Netware… (free or not)

i would HIGHLY suggest using a linux server for this need. While offering the SMTP service you need, you will have a higher secruity and a better feeling about it not being down more than its up if you were to run windows.