Problems downloading torrents

Status
Not open for further replies.

jools182

Well, I am not sure if I did the right thing as I am new to this.

I am trying to download a movie from demonoid.com.

I downloaded it using utorrent and then just tried to play the file on media player. It seemed to load the intro, but as the menu screen wasn't working (i.e. I couldn't click on it to choose chapters etc) I couldn't watch it
I just burnt the iso file to dvd to see if it worked on my dvd player but just got some weird menu screen

Yesterday when I wanted to try burning it again, the file was much smaller than when I originally downloaded it and when I tried to open it seemed to be just a small part of the film

So I deleted that and tried to copy what I had burned on dvd back to my PC, but that wouldn't work and it was coming up with a cyclic redundancy check error

So thats when I tried to download the torrent again, but it keeps sticking. I left it running last night and when I checked this morning my computer had rebooted. So started the torrent again and it keeps sticking at 8.7% and shows the 'eta' column as the infinity symbol

using any kind of P2P software like torrents, limewire, kazaa, etc... is highly risky and conduit to viri. While it can be used for legal transfer of files, 90% of the time it is used for piracy. Techspot neither condones piracy nor supports this type of behavior nor recommends the use of P2P software.

uTorrent is the name of the file I clicked on one fine day in July.
I didn't know where it came from, it was just in my New Downloads folder.

THAT file was a Trojan downloader that Webroot Spysweeper and Norton 360 both missed.

I miss that hard drive.

In short. P2P has it's own set of hidden disasters.

If you must use a P2P system, do your research first. Some are better then others, but none of them are worth the risk.

"Is Comcast your ISP?"
"No- I use seriously"