Problems getting Internet access whilst using multiple OS's on one PC

Virtual Madness

Situation:

A custom built, hand-me-down, PC (albeit a good few years old now) comprising of:

One IDE Drive (one partition) with Windows XP Home - original installation.
One SATA Drive (four partitions) with Windows Vista Home Edition and XP Pro (the other two partitions are currently spare) - new OS installations.

Nvidia NF7-S V2.0 Motherboard - BIOS 'now' up-to-date with all relevant drivers.

2-Wire BT Broadband Business Hub.

Problem (bearing in mind I have little knowledge of using multiple volumes and/or Networking do's and don't's etc. etc - hence the post):

XP Home (on IDE drive) will connect to the internet (as it always has done) via the Ethernet Cable connected to the Router, but it does not recognise the Gateways USB cable option (yellow exclamation mark in Device Manager - and it won't/can't install a driver from any location - Router Installation CD, Windows/systems32, Windows up-date etc).

XP Pro (on one of the new partitions on the SATA drive) will connect to the internet, but ONLY via the USB cable when connected to the Router - it's the opposite to the above problem when booting from that partition i.e. it does not recognise the Gateways Ethernet connection (this time, it's a yellow exclamation mark against the Ethernet Controller AND the SM Bus Controller - again, neither will find/install a driver from any location).

Vista (on the other SATA drive partition works perfectly, regardless of how it's connected to the same router i.e. USB cable or Ethernet - there are no yellow exclamation marks in Device Manager and all hardware and associated drivers are fine and detailed correctly???