Pros and cons updating to Windows 7

BillAllen55

Hi,

I'm a long time user of Windows XP home version. I've used XP for about 10 years.
I'm currently a college student and have the opportunity of getting Win 7 at a very reduced rate. My question is this: what are the pros and cons of updating to Win 7?
Is it likely I will have driver issues? Will the Win 7 ultimate provide all of my office programs that typically come from the MS office suite? What would be recommended for the student user? Please don't refer me to the Windows website where there are sadly lacking descriptions of the new OS.
Hope that is not too many questions put together in one post.

Thanks

I was the same a few weeks ago. I actually keep my home edition on a seperate boot, just in case i decide to go back...Truth is, i aint gone back yet.

I suppose my pros would be: More smooth (desktop, icons), Windows aero is great, more secure overall, better support with updates, I'm liking IE8 (but most people go for firefox or chrome)..and more support for hardware straight off the bat (no cd install for most stuff), I aint really had any driver issues apart from my webcams.

My Cons:......Two of my webcams don't gel with windows (won't install right) and it's more ram hungry than xp, although this is understandable. I also prefer not to play major games using win 7 (because win 7 takes alot of ram), My ultimate didn't come with office programs.

My conclusion: I prefer win 7 way over xp, but i do like an xp on another hd just in case.

Windows OS will not include Office - those are two completely seperate and things and the Office suite costs more than Windows in most cases.