PS2 Output = Monitor. How?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eddy05

I'm not good at all with electronics.

Just wanna ask if there's a way to route my PS2's output so that it'll display on my CRT (Philips 107T) monitor and outputs sound on my Creative Inspire 2.1?

I feel that the 14" TV in my room doesn't give me the kick.

Indeed there is Eddy. I dont know if the Inspire 2.1 speaker set has RCA jacks on it, however is so, plug in the wires(white and red cables) like you normally would to your TV, to the speakers. If it doesnt have RCA inputs, get a digial optical cable, and run it from the back of your PS2, to the speakers(check www.ebworld.com >PS2>Accesories for it). Heres the link to the VGA adapter:

http://www.ebgames.com/ebx/categories/products/product.asp?pf_id=219898

Enjoy

I don't know much about the PS2, but I know this: if your PS2 has RCA or mini output jacks, than it will work. The speakers should most definitely have mini inputs - and you can buy, if you don't have one, a mini to RCA cable.

This would work best with a home theater reciever :D

It would be helpful to know what kind of video outputs the PS2 has - RCA (yellow)? S-Video (like a pre-USB keyboard)? That box that agissi linked to would work, although you may be shaky about paying $50 for it...

I would prefer a monitor to a TV in a heartbeat, especially a shiny new 34" Princeton Arcadia monitor! :D

ps2 has the following output options:
A/V cable
S Video cable
Component A/V cable
Optical Digital Out
S400 i.LINK (IEEE 1394) 400Mbps non-powered
USB

Not sure what the last two will work