Purchasing Video Card, Can't Decide

By WinterTree
Sep 4, 2006
  1. Hi. This is my first time posting, so I'd appreciate it if i got some responces.

I'm planing to get a new Video Card, but i dont know what to decide:confused: . I only have a $220 limit and I want to get something decent, that would work for games. I'd choose between Raeon or Nvidia, so please tell me which video card would be best for me for $220 CAN, gaming. Please post up prices too (taxes included please).
  2. Tedster

Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 6,000   +15

depends on what you want to play. $220 CAN is about $198 US dollars. I'd go with NVIDIA. I've used both Radeon and NVIDIA and radeon has had driver issues in the past where the card couldn't be used. I am sure it is cleaned up by now. NVIDIA tends to be more stable. Actually it's really a matter of preference. Both makers make outstanding cards.
  3. F1N3ST

F1N3ST TS Rookie Posts: 596

Radeon is the best for that budget, I am getting a Radeon X1900GT on newegg for 199.99 USD, that should be around your budget in canadian.
    256-Bit Memory compared to the 128-Bit memory you would get with a 7600GT, and it has higher clock speeds.
  4. Face of LA

Face of LA TS Rookie Posts: 163

Both radeon N Nvidia are good, but Nvidia is better, they didnt win all of these awards for no reason, so go with a Nvidia one,
  5. WinterTree

WinterTree TS Rookie Topic Starter

Thanks. I'm probibly gona get nvidia now, but I don't know which is which. Theres G-force, N-force, and sLi. I plan to play games like World of warcraft, Civilizations 4, Unreal Tornament 2007. If $220 CAN is not enough, please tell me and I'd prob save up to get it.
  6. Sharkfood

Sharkfood TS Guru Posts: 1,019

If you're going with NVidia, I'd urge or a 7-series.. such as a 7600/7800/7900 series as these are the newest generation.

It's really a question of budget, and if you have the power & cooling for it.
  7. MetalX

MetalX TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,388