Radeon 9800 pro

By stokes94
Apr 30, 2007
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi i was running Radeon 9800 pro 128mb and it ran for about 4 months. It was perfect it use to crash but its was fine. But then my computer wasnt booting up all the time and now windows wouldn't start up. If i take the card out everyhting runs fine. I sent the card and got it replaced and now the replacement does the same thing, so i dont know what to do. Any help
    sean
  2. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    We've seen here on TS several problems with the 9800 cards. Screen corruptions, crashes, BSOD's....

    Sometimes the GPU fan is not working, sometimes the video RAM gets too hot.

    Try pointing a case fan to it, and check if it works properly for a longer period of time.
    If it does, it's definitively overheating.

    Regards :wave:
  3. chuck4456

    chuck4456 Newcomer, in training Posts: 64

    Try a known good PSU substitution and see what occurrs..............
  4. stokes94

    stokes94 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Thanks for the input, But what is A PSU. I dont think its an overheating problem because the card is new and its crashing as soon as windows trys to start with or without the cover on.
  5. LinkedKube

    LinkedKube TechSpot Project Baby Posts: 4,264   +41

    power supply unit
  6. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    It's probably the PSU (Power Supply Unit). What are the specs on urs? Open up the case and look at the sticker on the PSU and post the numbers on it here, including the brand name. Also, what're the rest of ur PC's specs?
  7. beef_jerky4104

    beef_jerky4104 Banned Posts: 1,094

    You bought a new 9800? I didn't know that they still made those cards. Like others recommended try changing the power supply for a well known branded one, like Antec, OCZ and Thermaltake.
  8. stokes94

    stokes94 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    heres my stats without my card in
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 4/30/2007, 16:02:55
    Machine name: SEAN-AVAKJ44BY4
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) (2600.xpclient.010817-1148)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: VIAK8_
    System Model: AWRDACPI
    BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+, ~2.0GHz
    Memory: 960MB RAM
    Page File: 221MB used, 1328MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.0001.0904 32bit Unicode

    Card name: VIA/S3G UniChromeII Graphics
    Manufacturer: VIA/S3 Graphics, Inc.
    Chip type: VIA/S3G UniChromeII Graphics
    DAC type: Internal
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3108&SUBSYS_D0001458&REV_01
    Display Memory: 64.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Philips 105S (105S2)
    Monitor Max Res: 1280,960
    Driver Name: vtdisp.dll
    Driver Version: 6.14.0010.0103 (English)
    DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 12/19/2003 16:46:38, 1949696 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
    VDD: n/a
    Mini VDD: vtmini.sys
    Mini VDD Date: 12/19/2003 16:47:08, 133632 bytes
    Device Identifier: {D7B71FE6-7248-11CF-8F77-0AF0A0C2CB35}
    Vendor ID: 0x1106
    Device ID: 0x3108
    SubSys ID: 0xD0001458
    Revision ID: 0x0001
    Revision ID: 0x0001
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_B ModeMPEG2_A
    Deinterlace Caps: {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,X8R8G8B8) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,X8R8G8B8) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    Registry: OK
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
    DDraw Test Result: Not run
    D3D7 Test Result: Not run
    D3D8 Test Result: Not run
    D3D9 Test Result: Not run

    the power supply is 550 watt Shaw
    i heard it might also be my chipset paying up because its a radeon card
  9. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    Update the chipset drivers. Also, what are the numbers on the PSU sticker? And is Shaw the PSU name/brand? Look at the PSU sticker and get me values for the amps on the +12V rail and get the voltage values for the +12V, +5V and +3V rails from SpeedFan or any other hardware monitoring program like Everest Home.
  10. stokes94

    stokes94 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    the sticker reads

    Ac input 230V, 50hz, 3A fuse rating 5A/250v

    +12v 28A
    +5v 48A
    +3.3v 32A
    -5v 0.5A
    -12v 0.5A
    +5vsb 3.0 A
  11. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    That +12V rail should be good enough for the 9800PRO.

    Can you check the card's temperature?
     
  12. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    I doubt it is overheating but check to be sure. Also, check if the voltages on all the rails are under or over 10% of that rails' maximum voltage. For example, the +12V rail should be around 12.1 or 11.8 without any fluctuations. Any fluctuations or a very low voltage reading indicates an underpowered/dying PSU.
  13. nickc

    nickc TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,623

    How do you check this?
  14. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    SpeedFan and Everest show these voltage values.
  15. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    Don't trust Speedfan's voltage readings. They're not accurate at all.
  16. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    Well they're accurate about 75% of the time. That's why I suggested using multiple programs like Everest as well. Your BIOS should also have a Hardware Monitor feature that will allow you to see these values. This will allow you to get a more accurate impression of what's going on in the PSU.
  17. wolfram

    wolfram TechSpot Paladin Posts: 2,605   +9

    I'd only trust Everest and the BIOS readings :)
  18. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 7,280   +23

    Hmm, seems like someone's had a bad experience with SpeedFan? ;)
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.