Ram problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
First of all I'd just like to say hello to all you wonderful people, as this is my first post. After having such problems with my pc I've decided to join up and seek the help and advice of you fine people. Right onto the problem.

My system:
Asrock p4vt8+ mobo, with up to date bios
Intel Pentium 4 Prescott 3.2Ghz 800FSB
2×1gb ddr ram (generic)
Saphire Ati Radeon 9600 Pro Atlantis
(thats all i think i need to tell you, if u need more info let me know please,

To start off with i'm not a noob but i'm no expert either i know quite a bit bout the ins of pc but not a complete knowledge fountain. The system above i built myself earlier this year and it has run great so far, but i recently bought two 1gig ddr ram sticks (pc3200) as i had already on 1gig in there but wanted more (not bein greedy :) ) ne way the problem came when i wanted to put all three ram sticks into the pc, simply put the system would not start up, don't get me wrong it got to just before the xp loading screen but then just rebooted and this would happen over and over again unless i switched it off, I have tried fiddling around with the bios settings lowering the frequency etc of the ram but no success. atm i have the two newer ram sticks in and they work seemingly ok, there's nothing wrong with the old stick since i have tried different scenarios as in putting the old stick with one of the new ones and placing them in two of the three bays. i've used memtest86 to see if there woz ne faults and it woz all positive. i can't figure out the problem so please could you help a guy out here, it's starting to really bug me out.

thanks

shak :wave:

My guess would be simply that the different types of ram you are wanting to use just don't like working together...