Random freezing

Status
Not open for further replies.

CMH

I am a novice overclocker, and I did it because I have spent a whole 6 months understanding the risks and all (helps when your dad is an electrical engineer, who has spent his whole life testing ICs).

Anyway, I just overclocked for the first time in my life, and my comp has been running fine for about 3 weeks now.

Unfortunately its been hanging once in a while, and all the time when running certain programs at certain times.

I have only been playing one game these days (X3: Reunion) and it seems like there is random crashing once in a while, usually after a few hours of play. It can be at any time in the game, not restricted to jumpgate use (which there are known bugs). I can't figure out whats the problem here.

I also notice that running ATItools immediately after starting up causes the computer to hang. Only immediately after starting up, before and around when the soundblaster splash screen comes up. I'm not sure if its because of the splash screen, but I know it hasn't done this before the overclock.

Doesn't happen with MSN/Firefox. Will try with normal office programs.

It runs fine if I just leave the computer for 5 mins. But a 5 min startup time is not something I'm happy to live with.

Anyway, here's my computer spec:
P4 2.4C @ 3.3
GA8IPE1000
Corsair TwinX1024 4400C25
Sapphire X800XT (500/500 @ 567/567)
Seagate 120GB Sata (master)
Maxtor 200gb Sata (slave)
430W Enlight.

Cooling:
Tt golf 325
Tt Ufo
Tt Spirit (using original heatsink, just used the fan. Heatsink removed, and reinstalled using AS5.)
Zalman VF700-Cu
2x80mm, 2x120mm

Everything is installed using AS5, as per AS5 application instructions to the detail. Fans running at max speeds.

Temperatures:
CPU: 60s
GPU: 61 max
GC RAM: 57 max
Chipset: unknown.