Reformatted comp, loaded Windows XP and now can't connect to Internet

I have an old laptop that contracted a virus that I couldn't purge. So, I reformatted the harddrive using DBAN. Then I booted the laptop with Windows XP. Now I'm trying to connect to the internet using a LAN connection and am getting no connection.

I have a Dell Latitude D810. I went to the Dell site (on my working desktop) and attempted to download all of the drivers onto a flash drive to transfer to the laptop. I tried double-clicking on the downloads that I had (downloaded all of the "recommended" links available) and nothing really happens.

As you can tell I have very little knowledge with this part of laptop setup.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Hi, You have installed XP on the laptop, so did it install right through to the desktop?
And you have entered the product key? Can you go into the BIOS and check that the LAN setting is enabled? If so, it should be able to connect to the 'net, assuming there are no other problems. Then you should be able to go to Dell's site and download all the drivers provided by them for your laptop. There may be several drivers you need that must be downloaded from their own makers sites. You can find out which by using, Control panel, system, device manager. Look for the devices with yellow triangles next to them. That indicates that the driver is either faulty, or more likely, missing. Hope that makes sense.

Thanks for the response.

I installed Windows XP directly on the laptop by inserting the disk and rebootting the laptop. I then entered the product key.

I did not install Windows XP from my desktop to the laptop. I was only using my desktop to try to find all of the drivers from Dell.

How do I go into the BIOS to check the LAN settings?