Replacing mobo,comp doesnt detect CD/HD,(long)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry so long Im new to working on computers/adding components ect.

specs of original comp

P4 3GHz processor
AsRock 4S55FX mobo 478
512 mb ddr ram
128mb ati 9800 vid card

Purchased computer roughly one year ago, custom made

These are the symptoms I was having before in order of occurrence.

1: Loud cackling/beeping noises would come from my speakers, even if I turned them off, during the noise my computer would lag a bit, mouse would move slowly ect for the 3-5 seconds of noise, it would go away and things would be fine.

2:Computer started having problems shutting down and rebooting, I thought it was the moinitor but tried 2 others to find that the system wasnt rebooting properly. Would take 2-3 resets to boot up, sometimes Windows would freeze at the XP screen. Rarely though. I left my computer on for spans of 2 days to get around the booting problem.

3:Started to encounter freezes while playing an online game, rarely, which then started occuring more often just while browsing the internet. Started taking more resets to eventually boot. No Beeps at all while booting, ran a virus scan ect. Saw in device manager that a RAID controller device had a ? next to it and i remember seeing that a couplemonths ago and ignoring it, well i got the drivers off the mobo disk and installed them for the RAID and still booting issue was same.

Talked to some friends online and all said it was probly the mobo, due to freezes and no beeps at boot.

Went and bought a new mobo at comp usa, was the most similiar to mine, an AVIT fs7 or something and another 512 mb of ram.