Self-taught programmer creates shovelware games in under 30 minutes, earns over $350,000

midian182

Staff member
WTF?! The biggest games today can cost more than movies, stretching well beyond the hundred-million-dollar mark. It also takes several years or more from the start of development to the final product being launched. So the idea of a self-taught programmer making a series of "games" that took 30 minutes each to create and generated over $350,000 sounds impossible, but it really did happen.

TJ Gardner is the creator of the Stroke games available to download from the PlayStation Store. To say they follow a simple premise would be an understatement: players see a still picture of whatever animal that particular title is based on superimposed against a blue background.

The text in the corner reads, "Strokes 0," which goes up by 1 every time the X button is pressed, causing the animal to flash briefly. Reach 25 strokes and you're awarded a bronze trophy, with more awarded for various milestones. Hitting 2,000 strokes will give out a platinum award.

From Wikipedia: Low-budget, poor-quality video games, released in the hopes of being purchased by unsuspecting customers, are often referred to as "shovelware". This can lead to discoverability issues when a platform has no type of quality control.

In a story about Gardner in The Guardian, it's pointed out that the games feature no animations or sound effects, even the music is described as lo-fi acoustic beats looping endlessly in the background. The images are courtesy of a Creative Commons license from Wikipedia.

The games might sound pretty bad, even for their $3.99 (currently on offer for $2.79) price, yet they have made over $350,000. They've been downloaded more than 120,000 times since launching in September 2022, giving Gardner a pre-tax profit of almost $240,000 after Sony takes its 30% cut.