Sims 2 Graphics Issue

By martindeck
Jan 20, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. My Sims' head and/or body stretches out of the screen whenever the day of time triggered lighting occurs, and whenever I go to a community lot, and after playing after some time.

    Also, when the cheatbox is expanded, numerous texts appear showing that audio errors have occured.

    Please Help me. My System is:

    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 1/20/2008, 15:43:49
    Machine name: MOBILE_COMPUTER
    Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6000) (6000.vista_rtm.061101-2205)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: TOSHIBA
    System Model: Satellite A215
    BIOS: BIOS Version 1.00
    Processor: AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-58 (2 CPUs), ~1.9GHz
    Memory: 1918MB RAM
    Page File: 1136MB used, 2935MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 10
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 6.00.6000.16386 32bit Unicode

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: ATI Radeon X1200
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x791F)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_791F&SUBSYS_FF1A1179&REV_00
    Display Memory: 830 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 127 MB
    Shared Memory: 703 MB
    Current Mode: 1280 x 800 (32 bit) (60Hz)


    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0268&SUBSYS_1179FF0A& REV_1000
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5464 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 8/11/2007 04:49:16, 1941848 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
  2. cosmos100

    cosmos100 Newcomer, in training Posts: 82

    I don't have the solution unfortunatly, basically try updating your graphics drivers and setting the graphics quality a bit lower and see what happens.

    I have had this same problem when I was at work and I didn't solve it whcih is annoying, but the customer had the same problem with the exact same graphics card.

    Hope this gets solved.
  3. martindeck

    martindeck Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 29

    I appreciate the help, but windows says I have the latest drivers for my graphics card.
  4. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Has this suddenly started occurring ?
    Has there been another program added since being OK

    Can you restore your computer to a time when it was working ?

    Have you tried re-installing the game (saving scores)
  5. martindeck

    martindeck Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 29

    It has been like this since I first started running it. I've reinstalled the Sims 2 two times, and the same problem. I've even reformated my whole system, it's still occurs. I do have the latest drivers.
  6. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Only option replace video card to a 512 Meg

    If it's not the game
    It's not Windows or drivers
    Then it must be hardware
  7. martindeck

    martindeck Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 29

    No way. The Sims 2 requires 32Mb video card. I have 128 Mb, and the shared memory is 830Mb. It's not the graphics card. My System's RAM is 1918 Mb. It can't be my system specs.

    Here, the DirectX Diagnostics:

    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 1/21/2008, 19:23:03
    Machine name: MOBILE_COMPUTER
    Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6000) (6000.vista_rtm.061101-2205)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: TOSHIBA
    System Model: Satellite A215
    BIOS: BIOS Version 1.00
    Processor: AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-58 (2 CPUs), ~1.9GHz
    Memory: 1918MB RAM
    Page File: 829MB used, 5024MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 10
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 6.00.6000.16386 32bit Unicode

    ------------
    DxDiag Notes
    ------------
    Display Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
    Input Tab: No problems found.

    --------------------
    DirectX Debug Levels
    --------------------
    Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
    DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: ATI Radeon X1200
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x791F)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_791F&SUBSYS_FF1A1179&REV_00
    Display Memory: 830 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 127 MB
    Shared Memory: 703 MB
    Current Mode: 1280 x 800 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor
    Driver Name: atiumdag.dll,atiumdva.dat,atitmmxx.dll
    Driver Version: 7.14.0010.0517 (English)
    DDI Version: 9Ex
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 7/28/2007 14:14:30, 2999296 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp:
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-3A5F-11CF-CC70-10DFA1C2CA35}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x791F
    SubSys ID: 0xFF1A1179
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
    Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled

    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0268&SUBSYS_1179FF0A&REV_1000
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: RTKVHDA.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.0001.5464 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 8/11/2007 04:49:16, 1941848 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
  8. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    Is bios set to 128 Mb, you could try that.

    I know TheSims2 is stated only 32 meg video. But a gamer these days should look at 512 (PCI-E) and above, with 2gig of Ram (ie Vista) and minimum dual core.

    You just want this game to work - I know.

    But, this may in fact be a faulty card, that dies under preasure.

    Try the bios setting first, other than that, hardware.
  9. martindeck

    martindeck Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 29

    The game already works on my system, it' s just that after 30 minutes of playing the game, or when I go to a community lot, that's when this problem occurs.
  10. martindeck

    martindeck Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 29

    Problem Discovered

    I have discovered the problem somehow. It's the lighting. How did I know?

    I had a Sim read a book, he sat down on a chair with a wall lighting overhead, and I noticed that my sim's clothes have black things on 'em. I turned of the specific light, and my sim's clothes returned back to normal. I turned the wall light on again, and it happened again. Then, I set my game settings on light as High, and that streching out happened. I turned the lighting settings low again, and it never returned back to normal. Now I know it's the lighting, so what do I do?
  11. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    The lighting takes up the most video ram !
    I'll leave that comment with you :)
  12. martindeck

    martindeck Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 29

    How can I adjust then my video RAM?
  13. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 4,048

    First thing that jumps out is that you have generic windows drivers installed for your monitor.
    Go to manufacturer's website, look for section support * downloads, download the drivers for your specific monitor.

    second thing, Right click your desktop, select personalize, Display settings, make sure colors is on highest 32bit, check that your resolution is set to your monitors "native" resolution. This can also be found on the manufacturers site. While there check the refresh rate.

    Still under display settings, click Advanced Settings, go to the adapter tab, select show all modes, match up the resolution and refresh rate to what your manufacturer of your monitor says is should be.

    Just some things to try that works sometimes
     
  14. kimsland

    kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

    I was implying for you to purchase another card, with a smile.
  15. cronxs

    cronxs Newcomer, in training

    Ok just dll the latest drive for Catalyst Control Center, (8.4) right now... and thats it enjoy the game... :)
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.