TechSpot

Slow system, trouble loading pages

By dmwenthold
Feb 7, 2009
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi,

    My PC is running very slow, and has trouble loading some webpages. For example, Facebook cannot load at all. I suspect some sort of virus, but my AV SW does not detect anything on scans. Occasionally, my AV SW has an error and shuts down. I also have a spyware SW, but that does not detect anything either.

    I will run Hijack this and post the log

    Thanks for any help

    Moderator Edit
    You must Attach the logs, not paste them in
    Your 5 below posts now removed
    Also you need to refer to this guide: UPDATED 8-step Viruses/Spyware/Malware Preliminary Removal Instructions
    By the way, attaching logs can be done with 1 post only
  2. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    Norton/Symantec is almost assuredly your biggest slowdon.

    You should consider replacing it with Avira.

    From you post it appears Norton is damaged anyway!

    If you want to do that do not do it yourself but let us guide you. Norton is hard to remove even after uninstall.

    But do nothing until you do the 8 Steps and attach the logs, as advised by Kim above.

    Mike

    Hi Dave

    Boot to Safe Mode and do all below.

    Left Drag mouse and Copy for Pasting all text in the box below. Make sure the slider bar goes to bottom from the @ to the end of the second exit.

    Then paste to the black screen of an open command prompt. All may not apply so ignore errors.

    Code:
    @echo off
    cd\
    :: Fix associations
    ftype exefile="%1" %*
    ftype batfile="%1" %*
    ftype cmdfile="%1" %*
    ftype comfile="%1" %*
    ftype scrfile="%1" /S
    ftype regfile="regedit.exe" "%1"
    ftype piffile="%1" %*
    ftype inffile=%SystemRoot%\System32\NOTEPAD.EXE "%1"
    ftype vbsfile=%SystemRoot%\System32\WScript.exe "%1" %*
    ftype jsfile=%SystemRoot%\System32\WScript.exe "%1" %*
    
    assoc .exe=exefile
    assoc .bat=batfile
    assoc .cmd=cmdfile
    assoc .com=comfile
    assoc .scr=scrfile
    assoc .reg=regfile
    assoc .pif=piffile
    assoc .lnk=lnkfile
    assoc .inf=inffile
    assoc .vbs=VBSFile
    assoc .js=JSFile
    
    sc stop TDSSserv.sys
    sc delete TDSSserv.sys
    :: Above sc commands first stops then deletes service if it exists
    ::
    reg unload "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\tdssdata"
    reg unload "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\tdss"
    ::
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\tdssdata" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\tdss" /f
    ::The above reg commands first unloads the reg keys then deletes these keys.
    ::
    Attrib -h -s -r tdss*.* /s
    del  tdss*.* /f /q /s
    :: The above two lines first clears protective attributes then 
    :: deletes all files on Drive beginning with the name tdss
    
    :: Remove AntiVirus2009
    attrib -h -s -r "%UserProfile%\Desktop\Antivirus 2009.lnk"
    attrib -h -s -r "%UserProfile%\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Antivirus 2009.lnk"
    attrib -h -s -r "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\S96PZM7V\winsrc[1].dll"
    attrib -h -s -r "%UserProfile%\Start Menu\Antivirus 2009\*.*"
    
    del "%UserProfile%\Desktop\Antivirus 2009.lnk" /f /q
    del "%UserProfile%\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Antivirus 2009.lnk" /f /q
    del "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\S96PZM7V\winsrc[1].dll" /f /q
    del "%UserProfile%\Start Menu\Antivirus 2009\*.*" /f /q
    
    rd /s /q "%UserProfile%\Start Menu\Antivirus 2009"
    
    attrib -h -s -r "c:\Program Files\Antivirus 2009\*.*"
    rd /s/q "c:\Program Files\Antivirus 2009"
    
    attrib -h -s -r c:\WINDOWS\system32\ieupdates.exe
    attrib -h -s -r c:\WINDOWS\system32\scui.cpl
    attrib -h -s -r c:\WINDOWS\system32\winsrc.dll
    
    del c:\WINDOWS\system32\ieupdates.exe /f /q
    del c:\WINDOWS\system32\scui.cpl /f /q
    del c:\WINDOWS\system32\winsrc.dll /f /q
    
    attrib -h -s -r c:\program files\xwdxqu.txt
    attrib -h -s -r c:\windows\x
    attrib -h -s -r c:\windows\SxsCaPendDel
    
    del c:\program files\xwdxqu.txt  /f /q
    del c:\windows\x  /f /q
    del c:\windows\SxsCaPendDel  /f /q
    
    reg delete HKLM\SOFTWARE\swearware /f
    reg delete HKCU\Software\Wget /f
    reg delete HKLM\Software\Classes\CLSID\{CD363BEC-7150-B887-530D-F3E2E0424EA} /f
    
    :: rootkit gaopdxserv
    attrib -h -s -r "c:\windows\system32\drivers\gaopdxqfotrruc.sys"
    attrib -h -s -r "c:\windows\system32\gaopdxqpqjwmyc.dll"
    attrib -h -s -r "\c:\windows\system32\drivers\gaopdxuigiphwm.sys"
    
    sc stop gaopdxserv.sys.sys
    sc delete gaopdxserv.sys.sys
    
    del  /f /q "c:\windows\system32\drivers\gaopdxqfotrruc.sys"
    del  /f /q  "c:\windows\system32\gaopdxqpqjwmyc.dll"
    del  /f /q  "\c:\windows\system32\drivers\gaopdxuigiphwm.sys"
    
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\ControlSet001\Services\gaopdxserv.sys" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\ControlSet001\Services\gaopdxserv.sys" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Classes\gaopdxvx" /f
    
    reg delete "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\75319611769193918898704537500611" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{037C7B8A-151A-49E6-BAED-CC05FCB50328}" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Browser Helper Objects\{037C7B8A-151A-49E6-BAED-CC05FCB50328}" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run" "75319611769193918898704537500611" /f
    reg delete "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run" "ieupdate" /f
    echo Finshed ripping out Antivirus 2008-9
    :: Fix associations
    ftype exefile="%1" %*
    ftype batfile="%1" %*
    ftype cmdfile="%1" %*
    ftype comfile="%1" %*
    ftype scrfile="%1" /S
    ftype regfile="regedit.exe" "%1"
    ftype piffile="%1" %*
    ftype inffile=%SystemRoot%\System32\NOTEPAD.EXE "%1"
    ftype vbsfile=%SystemRoot%\System32\WScript.exe "%1" %*
    ftype jsfile=%SystemRoot%\System32\WScript.exe "%1" %*
    
    assoc .exe=exefile
    assoc .bat=batfile
    assoc .cmd=cmdfile
    assoc .com=comfile
    assoc .scr=scrfile
    assoc .reg=regfile
    assoc .pif=piffile
    assoc .lnk=lnkfile
    assoc .inf=inffile
    assoc .vbs=VBSFile
    assoc .js=JSFile
    exit
    exit
    This should run and exit!

    It is a coverall and you may see a few errors related to it addressing something you do not need. This is normal ignore.

    Then..

    Download ComboFix

    NOTE: If you have had ComboFix more than a few days old delete and re-download.

    Get it here: http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/sUBs/ComboFix.exe
    Or here: http://subs.geekstogo.com/ComboFix.exe

    Double click combofix.exe follow the prompts.

    When finished, it will open a log.
    Attach the log and a new HJT log in your next reply.

    Note: Do not click combofix's window while its running. That may cause it to stall.

    Mike
  3. dmwenthold

    dmwenthold TS Rookie Topic Starter

    after some difficulty, I finally managed to complete the 8 steps.
    For some reason, I couldn't update the Java version, but I finally was able to do this. My Antivirus (norton internet security) still crashes.

    the logs are attached

    Thanks for any help

    OK. You will have to excuse my ignorance & inability to complete the task.

    I got started in safe mode, opened the command prompt and am at the root c:\ directory.
    But I can't paste the code that you have listed here. When I try to paste (Ctrl V), all that gets written is ^V

    is there something that I am missing?

    Sorry for being computer illiterate

    Thanks again for your help
  4. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    Excuse me as I meant to say Safe Mode Networking so you could log in here abd see the box to copy.

    To use regular safe mode you would need to copy the box in normal mode and paste to a notepad document on the desktop so it would be there in safe mode for you to copy and paste.

    Don't use CtrlV but click once on the black screen to make it active then rt click to paste.

    Mike

    But do remember that the removal tool is to cleanup after a Norton uninstall and reboot.

    Do not use the removal tool first!

    Mike
  5. dmwenthold

    dmwenthold TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Updated logs

    OK. Ran the "Fix"

    ran Combo Fix and HiJack this.

    Updated logs are attached

    Once again, thanks for all your help!
  6. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    Good job Dave.

    Do the below and reboot and report back the status of your computer, is all well?

    Update then run SAS
    Click Preferences-Repairs
    Then counting down from top do the following entries

    Numbers 6, 8, 11, 12, 13, 15,18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 24, 25, 26 and 27!

    Reboot the test for Google redirecting! let me know!

    The Norton removal tool was written by Symantec to remove corrupted installations or failed uninstalls only. They advise to always try the normal uninstall first. Then it was discovered that it helped to get even more of the crap Norton leaves if run after a successful uninstall. And it still leaves hundreds of files and registry entries!

    Mike
  7. dmwenthold

    dmwenthold TS Rookie Topic Starter

    OK. Runinng SAS right now, then will do the repairs.

    What is the "Reboot the test for Google redirecting"????

    When doing the repairs in SAS, only 21 repairs are available.
    Is there something incorrect?
  8. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    No nothing wrong.

    The count is different because you have Win2K and I forgot.
    So here is the ones to do if they exist, if not no problem.

    Enable Windows Explorer options
    Internet Zone Security Reset
    Remove Explorer Policy Restrictions
    Remove Internet Explorer Policy Restrictions
    Remove WinOldApp policy restrictions
    Repair broken Network Connection (WinSock LSP Chain)
    Reset Desktop Componets
    Reset Desktop Policies
    Reset URL PreFixes
    Reset Web Settings
    Reset Winlogon Shell
    Reset ZoneMap Settings
    User Agent Post Platform Reset
    User Agent reset

    Meant check facebook issue.

    Mike
  9. dmwenthold

    dmwenthold TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Most things are running much better, faster start-up, webpages loading much faster, etc.

    Unfortunately, a site like facebook pegs my CPU at 100% and status is "not responding".

    could there be a hardware issue, perhaps I don't have enough memory to load some pages?
  10. dmwenthold

    dmwenthold TS Rookie Topic Starter

    it's really odd. all other sites load much faster than previously (thank to all your assistance). Even graphic heavy espn.com loads up almost instantly. But facebook always hangs. I've been trying to research it some, and it appears many folks have had the problem. People have tried disabling AV, changing browsers, different OS, etc. But I have not stumbled across anyone who has posted a solution. very strange.
  11. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    OK try to access it in Safe Mode with Networking.

    Do not use a favorite but type facebook.com

    While the address line points to facebook.com do the below.

    If or not it connects while in IE click File and then near the bottom Click ADD then chose add to trusted zone.

    If it connected in Safe mode networking and you were able to add to trusted zone then reboot and try in normal mode.

    Report back results.

    Mike
     
  12. dmwenthold

    dmwenthold TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I'm runing IE ver 6.0, so adding to trusted zone works slightly different.

    But, while in Safe Mode, I was able to open Facebook, but is crashed IE right after the page loaded. I got the following message:
    Program Error
    IExplorer.exe generated errors and will be closed by Windows.
    An error log has been created

    Then IE shut down shortly after.

    This happend twice.

    I rebooted to normal mode, then added facebook to the list of trusted sites.
    It opened and appears to work normal for now.
  13. mflynn

    mflynn TS Rookie Posts: 2,793

    OK good!

    Carefully consider the below!

    Thread closing-------------------------------------------------------------------

    Some of these tools update so often they require downloading again later if needed. But keep and run MBAM and SAS to maintain.

    Remove ComboFix
    Start-Run
    type
    combofix /u
    Hit enter or click OK.

    Please download OTCleanIt http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/oldtimer/OTCleanIt.exe

    Save to desktop.

    This will remove all the tools we used to clean your computer.


    Double-click OTCleanIt.exe. Click CleanUp. Yes to the "Begin cleanup Process?"

    Approve all if prompted by Firewall. Approve Widows Defender or other guards or security programs while OTCleanIt attempting access to the Internet to allow all.

    If prompted to Reboot click, Yes.
    OTCleanit will delete itself when finished, If not delete it by yourself.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run CCleaner again twice or more on Cleanup temps, then on left click Registry then Scan for issues also repeat till clean.

    Run ATF-Cleaner http://majorgeeks.com/ATF_Cleaner_d4949.html Temp and Registry, repeatedly until no more found.

    KCleaner ftp://ftp2.kcsoftwares.com/kcsoftwa/files/kcleaner.exe
    Fantastic cleaner.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The issues can and are likely found is in System Restore so do the below

    Start-Programs-Accessories-System Tools-Disk- System Restore and create a new Restore point. Name it "After cleanup at TechSpot".

    Then Start-Programs-Accessories-System Tools-Disk Cleanup
    Click OK to accept C:
    Select all Boxes
    Then click More Options
    Here click System Restore and OK to "Are you sure" and the OK to Run.

    As this runs it clears all but the most recent Restore Point but it does one other thing that can contain infested files and a huge amount of disk space.

    It clears what is known as Shadow copies which are used by specialized back up programs.

    This is if you have the Volume Shadow Copy running which is the default.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Every two weeks or so, run MBAM and SAS until clean.

    They take a while, so leave scanning while you are sleeping working or watching TV. If not done under the gun they can be scheduled not to interfere with computer time.

    If they find something they can not clean, then get back to us.

    Additionally run CCleaner. ATF-Cleaner and KCleaner.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have been using ThreatFire for more than a year, it just went from ver 3 to ver 4.

    It was designed to be used with and to co-exist with other Virus scanners.

    Additionally it uses a totally different process to protect. While conventional Virus scanners work from definitions ThreatFire works on recognizing Virus/Malware activity.

    It's like looking at it with 2 sets of eyes and from a different angle.

    It works like some Firewalls do to learn what is good/bad.

    After install it will ask you about everything that could be a security issue. For example the first time you run IE or FireFox it will prompt you. You would answer to approve and remember the setting. From then on no more prompts about IE or FireFox unless the exe changes like in an update.

    As it queries you about the prompt to help you determine to approve or not you can google it with one click.

    http://www.threatfire.com/Download/
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Look at http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html

    Run SpyBot ocassionally and use the Immunize function.
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/

    I highly reccomend Hostman: Hostman http://majorgeeks.com/HostsMan_d4592.html

    Download install run and allow it to disable DNS Client and select all Host files and then Update and install all host files.

    A Disk Scan (chkdsk) and Defrag are in order.

    Mike
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.