Soyo Dragon+ won't post

Status
Not open for further replies.

drgrafix

Hi... Newbie here, looking for some help. This board has been running like a clock since I bought it new a few years ago. I've decided to purge and install a new 120 G HDD as a slave to the 45 Gig master and another 45 Gig slave. So I started cleaning the years of dust with a vacumn fitted with a PC nozzle/soft brush... everything seemed to be going great. Booted a couple of times OK, and then I booted again... and I get no video post on the screen. I hear the board beep, and it sounds like the drives are winding up, but no display.

I removed all wiring and started with just the video card, mouse, and keyboard. Still nothing when I boot but the sounds are there. It's almost like the system is hung in the boot/diagnostic. I can't get into the bios, or if I did punch DEL, I would not be able to see anything. The video card is a ATI Radeon 8500 DV, the CPU is an AMD 1800 XP, and the memory is a single 500 Meg stick.

I'm stumped, and there's no trouble-shooting section in Soyo's unser manual. Anyone have some ideas on what I can try?

Doc

Zep...

If the board had acted flaky a couple of hours ago, or even over the past few weeks/months... I might agree. But simply to die because I added a new HDD? Seems weird.

I've stripped the board to the bare essentials. Only the video card, the mouse, the keyboard. I did the CMOS jumper reset, and also pulled both the memory and the video card and re-seated both.

Now, instead of a single beep, I'm getting a continuous beep and an automatic shutdown. Still looking for possible problems, so if you think of anything, I'm willing to try it. I will also try looking on Soyo's web site for a FAQ on troubleshooting beeps.

If I have to rebuild with another mobo, what would you guys recommend (without breaking the bank)? I need to have a board that pretty much mimics the Soyo with regard to IDE Raid as I have the following IDE devices: