total newbie here... Looking to upgrade GeForce FX 5200 on Dell Dimension 8300

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys I play a lot of games on and off when I get the chance and it seems that lowering the in-game video settings isn't going to cut it anymore.

when i run dxdiag it says: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 - 128MB
Dell Dimension 8300, Pentium 4 3.20 GHz, 1022MB on XP Home Edition

To be honest i probably shouldn't be touching or opening up my computer with my limited knowledge, but i was hoping i could get some help here.

What I want is really just to be able to play all of the new and upcoming games. It doesn't have to be the best quality or anything really. This is just one of my systems I hook up to the LAN when I have friends over and i just need it to be functional. So really I need something that is compatible with most games, with my system, and relatively easy to install.

With this 5200 I've gotten Company of Heroes, HL2, Lego Star Wars II the original trilogy, dreamfall:the longest journey, the new sam & max episodes, swat 4, civilization iv, dawn of war: dark crusade, COD2, the settlers ii: 10th anniversary edition all working. But the more demanding ones like CoH and Dreamfall TLJ, i've had to lower the in-game settings to get it running smoothly, and I couldn't get a bunch of other games working like most of the tom clancy games that need pixel shader 3.0 support (don't know what this is), the swat 4 exp pack, and also I tried Europa Universalis III today and that won't really run at a playable rate (they specifically tell GeForce 5000 users that they need to upgrade to at least the 6000 series to be able to play). In the future i plan to get games like LOTR battle for middle earth, tom clancy's chaos theory, rainbow six vegas, double agent, etc., galactic civilizations ii: dark avatar... basically any new strategy games, or any FPS games with co-op.