TechSpot

User folder being deleted...

By Weatherdude
Sep 19, 2003
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Every time I log on as Administrator, the user folder in the C:\Documents and Settings\ for the normal user (the user that we use while the machine is under normal use) is being deleted. When I try to log back on as that user, it is like the first time I logged on as that user. Windows gives me all of that crap about "here is the start button" and wants to give me a tutorial and such. Why is this folder being deleted?

    The OS is Windows 2000.

    Thanks..
  2. Weatherdude

    Weatherdude TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Well, I found the problem. While the user was a member of the Users group as well as the Power Users group, it somehow got put into the Guests group also. Anytime a user is a member of the Guests group, it's profile and settings will be completely erased at every logoff.
  3. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,522   +298

    Glad you got it figured out, and that you posted what was wrong. Makes people with similar problems able to search and find an answer.
  4. Weatherdude

    Weatherdude TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Yep, that's exactly why I posted my solution!
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.