Video Card Upgrade/ Please Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
I currently have a 3DFX Voodoo5 5500 64MB AGP video card. I upgraded from Windows 98SE to XP Home recently when I built myself a new system. I started from scratch with new hard drives which means I didn't upgrade from 98SE. I had my Voodoo5 5500 set up perfectly with my old system and it ran great with games and videos. When I installed the card into my new system, it has never run like it did on the old system. In fact, I'm only showing 32MB of memory in dxdiag for this card. For the life of me, I don't know, I'm not an expert....yet. Maybe there aren't any drivers specific to XP? If I would've upgraded from 98SE to XP, maybe the drivers would carry over? I have tried drivers from everywhere and my video still isn't the same as it was with 98SE.

I am now thinking of upgrading to a 128MB card. I have a few choices because I got a $130 gift card from Best Buy for Xmas, which prompted the upgrade. I have researched these cards and all seem to have their own flaws, but I don't want to spend too much, under $150. I play games and watch videos, but I would say that I don't do it alot. I'm not hard core, so I don't need too much. Max Payne is my game of choice. Here are the cards I'm considering. They are all in my price range.

- ATI Radeon 9200 128MB DDR AGP
- BFG Asylum GeForce FX 5200 256MB AGP
- eVGA GeForce FX 5200 128MB AGP
- PNY GeForce FX 5200 128MB AGP

I have a Soyo KT-333 Dragon Ultra Platinum with AGP Pro slot. I'm not too familiar with AGP specs. yet, but I was leaning towards the PNY or ATI, but the PNY is AGP 8x. Will that work even though I have a mobo with AGP Pro 1x 2x 4x ?

I just want a good, inexpensive card that will produce. I'm tired of searching for 3DFX drivers. Any help on AGP knowledge and video card preferences would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!