What to upgrade for better performance

Predator9099

I finally got a new gaming PC on January 2013. It's an Acer Predator G3620 (Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, Intel Core i7 Processor 3770, Nvidia GeForce GT640 3GB, 16GB DDR3 Memory, 2TB Hard Drive, DVD-Super Multi-Drive, Wireless LAN, Multi-in-1 Media Card Reader) When I first got it, it was amazing. My settings were on Ultra and the FPS was 60. I couldn't ask for more. But it's been a year, my FPS dropped to 20-30fps on medium settings. I tried reading all these topics on how to increase fps but it did not work. So I was thinking on upgrading my computer, but the problems is, I don't know what to upgrade. So can you please tell me what to upgrade or what to do to get better performance on my computer? (Oh, and the games I play are DayZ, ArmA, Battlefield, Call Of Duty, Need For Speed, Minecraft, KSP, Assassin Creed, F1, Medal Of Honor, DCS, Flight Sim, X-Planes, War Thunder, World of Planes/Tank, etc...)

BTW, I'm a noob at computers..

Last edited by a moderator:
I can't help you with your problem, but to get the correct help you need fast, it would help if you made your titles pertaining to your question. Rather than just "helpp", for future reference.

Check for dust built-up. Also, how full is your hard drive? I would say, however, that your issue is with your video card. The Nvidia GeForce GT640 3GB is considered a budget card, not really a gamers card. Tests have shown that the average FPS is around 40. Add to this that games make the most demands of a video card I would say you are doing good at 30 FPS with a number of games you are playing.

GPU for sure.. The rest of that machine looks decent, but that video card is not fast at all. Problem is, with a pre-built machine you probably don't have a power supply with capacity for a decent video card so this might be a two-part upgrade. Check your PSU and report back here - you may have to replace both the PSU and the GPU.