What's in a name?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am somewhat new to building PCs by most standards. I never even touched more than a pocket calculator until a year and a half ago. to make along story short I replaced some very destructive vices, with PC gaming, and inorder to afford a decent gaming rig I had to learn to build it. so now I have about 10 builds under belt, and I realize I still have so much to learn. what I have learned ,I learned by trial and error and reading. here is my delimia
I am building my 27 yr old son and his family a computer for christmas.
my grand kids need one, my daughterinlaw wants one to keep up with all the gossip, and my son wants to join my 'BATTLEFIELD 2 CLAN/TEAM' i DONT HAVE VERY MUCH MONEY TO WORK WITH!!! here is what I have so far

intel 2.93 celeron D 512 cache 533 fsb
1 gig of pc 3200 ddr
nvidia 6600 gt
80 gig maxtor HDD

now I have to get a motherboard, and there are some things that are a must

upgradeable components i.e eventually to a p4 cpu
dual channel
hyperthreading
533/800 fsb

MY wife and myself both have ASROCK MOTHERBOARDS I have a p4S55FX+ and she has a p4v88 they have been very good and reliable mobos. on my rig I overclock the cpu and the video card and run a pent 4 3.0 800 fsb OCed to a 3.23 and my ASROCK mobo has been stable, and controls the heat and really preforms. I play battlefield2 on med without any lag issues or any problems at all I AM VERY HAPPY WITH ASROCK

BUT! other gamers I talk to say ASROCK IS JUNK! that I really should have a ASUS, or a ABIT [actully ASROCK owns ASUS from what I heard from a ASUS stockholder??}
if the specs are identical the same chipset everything says it is alike what makes ASUS,or ABIT so much better than ASROCK, other than the name???