Wikispaces to start charging for hosting your wiki in public

Andrea Borman

I have been hosting my Wikis for free on Wikispaces for several years now. One of my most read wikis is my wiki about Windows software and also the upcoming Windows 8 operating system.

See here-http://bestsoftware.wikispaces.com/

For those of you who don't know,Wikispaces is a free wiki hosting site that allows you to write about anything and share your own content with the rest of the world for free. And it is one of the few wiki sites that allows you to share your own photos and have full control over your content. Unlike some wiki sites like Wikipedia for example,who will delete a post if they don't like it and won't even let you post your own images.

I have recently learned how to install and run Dos games on Windows 8 and Windows 7 and so I wanted add that to my wiki on Wikispaces.And share it with the world. But when I logged into my account I got this message "all public wiki users had to verify their account in order for their wikis to remain hosted on public view or they will be set to private view."

At first I thought they meant verify my email address but when I looked it said I had to verify my Wikispaces account by making a $1donation!

At first I thought this was some kind of a joke but when I looked on their Wikispaces blog this is what it said.

Wikispaces blog.

Verifying Accounts

So what does this mean for you?

If you are a Wikispaces Private Label customer, you won’t see any difference. These changes only affects public wikis on Wikispaces.com.
If you don’t want or need any of your wikis to be publicly viewable, then you don’t need your account to be verified.
If you already have a publicly viewable wiki, or you plan to make one in the future, you may already be verified. Visit your publicly viewable wiki. If you do not see a warning at the top of the page your account is already verified.