TechSpot

Windows 7 x64 slower than 7 x86

By abbasi
Mar 2, 2014
Post New Reply
  1. I installed Windows 7 x64 (since some of the experts of here advised it instead of x86 to me!). But this version is slower than the previous one (7 x86). Why?

    PS:
    1- The apps are the same for the two.
    2- I have no malware.
    This is my system specs.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Maniac Posts: 458   +54

    You are asking questions that are extremely difficult to answer.


    I’m not a computer expert but appreciate that a 64 bit OS requires a lot more ram than 32 bit and that 4Gb of ram is probably a little more than the 32 bit can recognise or make full use of. Expect 64 bit to be happier with twice as much ram as 32 bit. That’s certainly not an accurate explanation but it is a workable one. A complete explanation would be lengthy and probably challenging to understand fully.


    English is your second language and it’s admirable that you are tackling such a difficult subject with its specialised vocabulary. I’m trying to learn another language and appreciate how much effort it requires. I suggest that you would learn more effectively by looking for the answer yourself before posting. In no way am I trying to upset you.
     
  3. gbhall

    gbhall TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,348   +50

    How do you measure 'slower' ? is it just an impression, or do you have any actual timings? If you have repeatable measurement proof on some sub-system, maybe we can offer advice. In the meantime, try googling for 'X64 slower than X86' and of the 437,000 results, the first few pages all have suggestions.

    Mostly the advice is make sure you have the correct 64-bit drivers and 32-bit drivers for the appropriate OS. Also expect the PC to speed up over a short time due to the effects of super-fetch. Finally 32-bit apps might not be quite as fast as a native 64-bit version of the same thing, when running on a 64-bit system.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014
  4. abbasi

    abbasi TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 343   +17

    @bazz2004: I know that this question is not simple but I don't know why you say "...questions that are...". Apart from this one which another one is/was too difficult? I tried to express what I thought is needed at first post (of this thread) and any more info is needed I'll mention them happily.
    I have read from the book "Configuring Windows7-MCTS (Exam 70-680)[2010]" that x86 can uses some memory size near to 4GB.
    Thank you for your sympathy, but what I'm looking for is the cause of the problem.
    > ".... by looking for the answer yourself before posting ....".
    I don't know what's your meaning.
    Anyway your answer didn't upset me (and also didn't help me) but thanks for your reply.

    @gbhall: Time. For example the time that Windows runs the start up apps and also when using Windows. I feel and see the slowness of that x64 compared to the x86 one.
    I think the drivers are (working) fine and don't see any reason showing they aren't.
    The speed of the running apps at start up (the apps at right down corner of the screen) is considerably low (in comparing) but also after that, the whole speed is not bad but it's lower than 32. I think the problem has to do with the RAM.
    > "Finally 32-bit apps might not be quite as fast as a native 64-bit version of the same thing."
    So what can I do? For example when there isn't any 64 bit version of "MVisual Studio 2012" I have to install the x86 version on x64 OS.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 2, 2014
  5. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Maniac Posts: 458   +54

    You have opened several threads in a short period of time although your computer hasn't any problems. You are using the forum as an educational resource. No problem, if the experts on the forum are willing to act as your course tutors.
     
  6. abbasi

    abbasi TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 343   +17

    OK no problem. I delete this thread and leave this forum for a long time. But the issue was that there wasn't any answer for the problem. You are wrong. I don't want to have more comment on you.
     
  7. Gary7

    Gary7 TS Rookie

    You are using the minimum requirement of 4 gigs of Ram. I am using Windows 7 64 Bit with 24 gigs of Ram and I do not see my machine as being slow.
     
  8. abbasi

    abbasi TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 343   +17

    Yeah, I think so. I think the problem belongs to RAM. I knew that x64 is certainly for machines that have more than 4GB of RAM and more important factor is WoW. And I don't know why when posted my system's specs here the professionals suggested me x64!!!
    The problem is solved and thread has been finished.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014
  9. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,630   +321

    Running 32 bit apps on 64 bit windows will result in slower performance. The performance difference is going to be very minor. It isn't normal to have a very noticeable difference in performance, if you are seeing a big difference, something isn't right.
     
    hopgop1 and cliffordcooley like this.
  10. abbasi

    abbasi TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 343   +17

    I really think the difference is not little. After running the 64 bit I regret for my previous 32 bit. I'm in doubt that the problem isn't only the apps. I've been said to provide some info text files of machine (like system info and so on) for checking. I also put them here. I'm sorry I said I'm going to delete this thread but couldn't find a button for it and also said the problem is finished now but for reverence to the members who continue the discussion I reply to them with respect to all.
     
  11. St1ckM4n

    St1ckM4n TS Evangelist Posts: 3,473   +622

    What experts did you ask? You asked on this forum which in no way claims that its members are professionals. Three people including myself replied. I work in I.T. so I am a professional, but I can't speak for everyone else. Additionally, we said 64bit is a good idea, and it is a good idea with 4GB RAM too.

    Then, we cross over to this thread where you talk about slow-downs. This isn't normal behaviour, so something is not right with your software or hardware. If software: try re-install, or allow super-fetch cache to build (give it a couple weeks). If hardware, a suggestion to get SSD will boost your program-opening speed significantly.

    Finally, I actually have doubts that your Win Ultimate x64 is a legitimate purchase. If it is illegal copy or not, don't mention it, just remember that we can't help you with openly illegal copy problems.



    In any case, visible slow-downs is not normal, but we can't help until you provide more info. E.g. see what happens when booting safe mode.
     
    cliffordcooley likes this.
     
  12. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,816   +922

    When running 32 bit apps on a 64 bit OS, you are essentially running a "virtual machine", and it's referred to as, "WoW", (Windows on Windows).

    There could possibly be a perceptible, but nowhere near significant difference in performance, when comparing a 32bit & 64 bit app of the same program.

    With that said, usually I don't install another OS, until I build a new machine. I now install nothing but 64 bit editions. The new machine in all cases, has outperformed its predecessor. So, even 32 bit apps, in actuality, run faster than they did on any of my older machines.

    You may be having driver or chipset ID issues.

    If you installed to an older machine, it may not have the "oomph" to handle the new OS's requirements.

    On light weight, older boxes, I still think XP is the best OS you can use.

    DISCLAIMER: I am not an expert, nor am I portraying my self to be one.

    So please, don't come back and tell me I did.
     
  13. abbasi

    abbasi TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 343   +17

    @St1ckM4n: I said "I've been said to provide ...." not "I've been said from the experts of here to provide.... ".
    Allow super-fetch cache to build (giving it a couple weeks) is not a hard work. I can wait two weeks if the problem will be solved.
    > what happens when booting safe mode.
    What should be happened? I need some clarifying for it.
    @captaincranky: As I said, I installed the x64 because experts said that version is better for my machine, isn't it?
    >You may be having driver or chipset ID issues.
    OK, how can I determine do I have these issues really or not?
    > I still think XP is the best OS you can use.
    !!! Why do you think so? You think I'm in the primary level of a computer user or perhaps you think I only can open the folder or copy-paste. Not a good idea.
    If you are not an expert so please don't waste your time replying the problems- with respect to you.
     
  14. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,816   +922

    IDK, I don't recall being "that expert"
    Again, as you've stated below you're not a beginner, and I shouldn't post if I'm not an expert. You'd think an "advanced user" such as yourself, would know what a "chipset ID driver" is


    In certain instances it is. Since I'm "not an expert", why don't you tell me?

    I knew replying to you was a waste of time before I hit the, "post reply" button, but I thought I'd give it another shot, just to make sure. It has been in the past, and it seems nothing has changed for the better.

    You've started 52 threads asking for help, with a litany of issues. "With respect to you", that doesn't sound like someone who can't learn at least a little thing or two from me.

    Of all your threads, this is my favorite: http://www.techspot.com/community/topics/how-to-bypass-irans-gov-filters-on-internet.192190/
     
  15. abbasi

    abbasi TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 343   +17

    Your picture does show the inside of you.
    I don't waste my time even one second for you, any more. And from now on I never reply to your talks whatever you say because I don't consider you as a hu.... to give you the reply. Get what I say.
     
  16. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,816   +922

    You did put this up so you could hear yourself try to be important, right?

    You have never replied to any of my posts in the past, and thank God you're not going to start now.

    That's because I've only put up maybe at most, a half dozen threads in the past 8 years asking for any help.

    By the way @abbasi , I went through 8 pages of your posts, through July 3013. Other than, "Snowden is a hero", you have never made a post, that wasn't in conjunction with a thread you started, asking for help.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2014
  17. St1ckM4n

    St1ckM4n TS Evangelist Posts: 3,473   +622

    Safe mode: this only boots the system drivers required for basic operation, so if everything is fine here then you have an issue with your installed programs.

    Chipset driver: go to the motherboard website and download the chipset driver for win7 x64.

    Hard drive operation: set it to AHCI in Windows and BIOS for best operation. Google around for guides.
     
  18. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Maniac Posts: 458   +54

    Apologies abbasi because I thought you were a teenager learning English and IT. You are in fact a 28 year old computer programmer from Kurdistan. Maybe we should be asking you for help?
     
  19. abbasi

    abbasi TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 343   +17

    Why teenager? I learned both of Computer and English without any teacher, can you understand? I also learned C++ just by myself by the PPP book which is for American students. If you compare your facilities and possibilities with mine then you will understand that I have done a great and hard work so far. And it's amazing that you can write in your mother tongue!
    PS: your comment sounds a kind of disrespect. And I react respect by respect and disrespect by disrespect. And furthermore, here is for scientific discussions not for childish talks.
     
  20. bazz2004

    bazz2004 TS Maniac Posts: 458   +54

    OK, you are a genius but you need to get out more.
     
  21. abbasi

    abbasi TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 343   +17

    @St1ckM4n:
    Going to safe mode is very simple. You said that "what happens when booting safe mode." but it would be better if you would ask "Does you machine go into safe mode correctly?" then I would say, yes it goes without any problem.
    And about the chipset driver, I downloaded the 57.28 MB one from here (http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4074#dl) and installed it and then restarted the machine, but no speed differences happened!
     
  22. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,816   +922

    Everybody's "disrespecting you", aren't they?

    Your social skills a quite juvenile, adamantine, condescending, and petulantly demanding.

    So, for your, "after grad work", you should probably read our, "Emily Post on Etiquette"

    You start thread after thread, this one with veiled insults, and argue with the answers you receive. I for one, wouldn't want to be in the classroom or workplace with you.

    Since you are from Iraq, I also find to be of significant concern, the fact the only single time you've strayed outside the context of asking for something, was to announce, "Snowden is a hero"!

    As someone from the US, the red flags, bells, and whistles, all went off at once over that comment.

    The trouble we're having dealing with you is this; whatever you may, or may not be in "real life", your social skills are on a par with a 13 year old spoiled brat, and @bazz2004 had every right to call you on it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2014
  23. abbasi

    abbasi TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 343   +17

    Apparently there isn't any obvious reason for that problem. The only cause which is in my mind is WoW. I think the problem with the x64 (for nowadays) is it. To be honest, in this few days that I had the x64, almost there isn't one time (of working) that I have't had some trouble with that OS. While when I had the x86 the only problem I had was just one thing, "nothing".
     
  24. Cobalt006

    Cobalt006 TS Maniac Posts: 1,850   +184

    What kind of problems you been having? Other then it running slow. I have been running win7 64 bit. With out a single problem. On all my computers. For about two years now.
     
  25. abbasi

    abbasi TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 343   +17

    What kind of programs? The normal ones which are necessary for each PC. And in below there are snapshots from my apps.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.PNG
      1.PNG
      File size:
      69.9 KB
      Views:
      7
    • 2.PNG
      2.PNG
      File size:
      77.3 KB
      Views:
      5
    • 3.PNG
      3.PNG
      File size:
      68.8 KB
      Views:
      6


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.