Windows Stop Error

By phodgson1
Apr 16, 2008
  1. Hello All,
    I'm new to this forum, so not exactly sure I’m posting this in the right place, but I’ll give it a go.

    I bought a custom pc from PC-Specialist just over 2 years ago now, and have been getting blue screen errors.
    The blue screen errors used to occur about once a month, in the last month they have started to occur two or three times every day.

    Another problem I have, is as I am at university, I regularly have to transport my pc home. Every time i transport my pc home and plug everything in, when I go to turn the PC on the lights come on the pc and the fans come on, but the monitors say no signal input. I checked all cables, opened up the case, cleaned the inside thoroughly, removed the ram and graphics card and re-seated them, couldn’t see any loose connections in the case.
    It usually takes about an hour before I can get the PC to turn on again.

    I am running dual screen monitors by the way on a Geforce FX5500.
    Windows MCE2005
    1 GB Ram
    AMD Athlon 64bit 3500+
    160GB HD
    Soundblaster Live 24bit
    DVB Tuner Card

    I suspected these problems were connected and that the graphics card is faulty, but I would like to check before I go out and buy a new one.

    On the blue screen error I get the following code


    STOP:0x00000050 (0XFFFFFFA1,0X00000008,0XFFFFFFA1,0X00000000)

    I have run two different ram tests overnight, and no errors have been found. I ran a cpu stress test also with no errors. I ran the ATI graphics tool, and the graphics were very poor and lumpy, but no errors were picked up.

    I have located the error in the event viewer and it had the code

    0000: 74737953 45206d65 726f7272 72452020
    0010: 20726f72 65646f63 30303120 35303030
    0020: 50202030 6d617261 72657465 66662073
    0030: 66666666 202c3161 30303030 38303030
    0040: 6666202c 66666666 202c3161 30303030
    0050: 30303030
  2. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    One error is a 0x7F: UNEXPECTED_KERNEL_MODE_TRAP defined as per as one of three types of problems occurred in kernel-mode: (1) Hardware failures. (2) Software problems. (3) A bound trap (i.e., a condition that the kernel is not allowed to have or intercept). Hardware failures are the most common cause and, of these, memory hardware failures are the most common.


    Requested data was not in memory. An invalid system memory address was referenced. Defective memory (including main memory, L2 RAM cache, video RAM) or incompatible software (including remote control and antivirus software) might cause this Stop message, as may other hardware problems (e.g., incorrect SCSI termination or a flawed PCI card).

    * I would definitely run MemTest on your RAm for a minimum of 7 passes. Any errors and you have corrupted memory that will need to be replaced.
  3. phodgson1

    phodgson1 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thanks Route44, Just ran memtest again for 10 passes, still no errors. Went back into windows, after 10 minutes another blue screen error,

    this time Error code 1000007f, parameter1 00000008, parameter2 80042000, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 00000000.

    0000: 53 79 73 74 65 6d 20 45 System E
    0008: 72 72 6f 72 20 20 45 72 rror Er
    0010: 72 6f 72 20 63 6f 64 65 ror code
    0018: 20 31 30 30 30 30 30 37 1000007
    0020: 66 20 20 50 61 72 61 6d f Param
    0028: 65 74 65 72 73 20 30 30 eters 00
    0030: 30 30 30 30 30 38 2c 20 000008,
    0038: 38 30 30 34 32 30 30 30 80042000
    0040: 2c 20 30 30 30 30 30 30 , 000000
    0048: 30 30 2c 20 30 30 30 30 00, 0000
    0050: 30 30 30 30 0000

    Attached Files:

  4. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    For some reason my WinDeBugger has an issue opening your latest minidump. Try running a full harddrive diagnostics.
  5. phodgson1

    phodgson1 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thanks, How would I do that? I ran a CHDSK earlier, with no errors detected. I have atatched a few more minidumps.
  6. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    I was only able to read your first minidump. Either there is something wrong with your minidump files or my WinDebugger is screwy. Anyway, it was another 0x50 error and it cited a core Windows file which is too generic for much help.

    As for your harddrive diagostics, your harddrive manufacturer will provide a free utility that you can downlaod and run to diagnose your harddrive.

    One other thing, bad RAM has been known to pass MemTest.
  7. dgower2

    dgower2 TS Maniac Posts: 238

    I opened the thrid dmp file in the windows debugger and it said hardware error. I know this isn't much help, but hopefully it will lead you down the right path. Start pulling all components, one at a time, rebooting between each removal and letting your system run for at least as much time as it took for you to get the BSODs. Hopefully it stops BSODing after you remove something and then you have your culprit.
  8. phodgson1

    phodgson1 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thanks for that, from the information I gave, which Hardware would you suggest trying first.
  9. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,966   +70

    Harddrive, but don't pull it, but do a harddrive diagnosis.
  10. dgower2

    dgower2 TS Maniac Posts: 238

    Before removing any hardware, have you run a scandisk or chkdsk on your hard drive?
  11. phodgson1

    phodgson1 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thanks guys, I ran chkdsk earlier with no errors, and just ran the advanced Hitachi Fitness Test with no errors also. What comes next?
  12. dgower2

    dgower2 TS Maniac Posts: 238

    Got a sound card? Pull that and reboot. If it doesn't crash, there's a good chance it's the sound card; if it does crash, replace the sound card and remove the NIC... The modem... Disconnect optical drives... Disconnect floppy... If you have multiple memory modules, pull one and reboot... Place the one you pulled back in and pull the other one... You just keep repeating this cycle until you (hopefully) narrow it down to the offending hardware. Just in case you don't know, you cannot pull the CPU, all memory modules, or the hard drive to test - your system won't boot. For the floppy drive and opticals (and onboard sound/NIC if applicable), you can also disable these in the BIOS instead of physically if you find it easier.

    Let me know if anything here is unclear.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...