windows xp startup problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
im running windows xp home edition and i was in a position where i had to restart my computer (and by the way i'm not good with machines...) so i did it 'properly'. start-restart.

so when i tried to start it, i got a black screen with this:

We apologize for the inconvenience, but Windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this.

If your computer stopped responding, restarted unexpectedly, or was automatically shut down to protect your files and folders, choose Last Known Good Configuration to revert to the most recent settings that worked.

If a previous startup attempt was interrupted due to a power failure or because the Power or Reset button was pressed, or if you aren't sure what caused the problem, choose Start Windows
Normally.

Safe Mode
Safe Mode with Networking
Safe Mode with Command Prompt

Last Known Good Configuration (your most recent settings that worked) Start Windows Normally

Use the up and down arrow keys to move the highlight to your choice.

Seconds until Windows starts: 30

and no i CAN'T get into thesafe mode.

since i'm not a techhead, i tried to do the system recovery thing so i pressed f10 when i restarted it again (and yeah that message up there keeps showing up) it stopped working and made me restart my computer again

and ironically i do not have my windows xp home edition operating system disk. never had it.

i'm a little desperate here :( help please?

f10 no effect

From your post, it appears that f10 did not launch the system recovery. For the moment, let's assume the key press was too late. Going down this path restores the computer to 'factory fresh' and you lose all the data and applications that you have added.

If you have not selected <last known good configuration>, give it a try. If this works, it would be my first guess that new hardware was added or drivers were updated.