TechSpot

WinXP doesn't shutdown after extensive use.

By erwin1978
Apr 17, 2002
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This happens intermittently: after using the computer for an extensive period of time, when I shut it down, it goes through the routine and stops at "saving settings" screen and doesn't end. I've tried waiting upto half an hour and it's still saving. Has anyone experienced this?
     
  2. boeingfixer

    boeingfixer TS Rookie Posts: 1,245

    I have too Erwin, I believe there is a patch for it at support.microsoft.com. Search for computer won't shut down. I use to get it all the time. If I can find it, I will post the work around here for you. !
     
  3. boeingfixer

    boeingfixer TS Rookie Posts: 1,245

    Erwin, here is the MS "Q" article describing this problem, hope this helps.

    MS SUpport
     
  4. poertner_1274

    poertner_1274 secroF laicepS topShceT Posts: 4,745

    I have never had this problem, and I leave my computer running 24/7. Always shuts down without hanging. I've had my computer on for over a week, and others I know have had same for over a month, and no problems. So I'm not sure what to tell you, but check out that link tha boein has given you.
     
  5. erwin1978

    erwin1978 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 327

    Great! I'll check it out and see if it fixes my problem.
     
  6. erwin1978

    erwin1978 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 327

    I went to the link but it doesn't send me to any patch.
     
  7. TS | Thomas

    TS | Thomas TS Rookie Posts: 1,327

    Says its on windowsupdate, what about disabling IME though?
     
  8. erwin1978

    erwin1978 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 327

    I went to the update page but there was nothing listed there.
     
  9. TS | Thomas

    TS | Thomas TS Rookie Posts: 1,327

  10. erwin1978

    erwin1978 TS Maniac Topic Starter Posts: 327

    Thanks. How did you find this page? I was not aware there was another version of the update page. I usually just go under Tools menu in IE6 and click on the Windows Update link there. It links to a different update page and it doesn't list the fix there. When I go to the link you gave me, there is 20 more critical stuff I haven't installed. I wonder why this is.
     
  11. TS | Thomas

    TS | Thomas TS Rookie Posts: 1,327

    That's the "business" Windowsupdate. It DOESN'T detect what updates you have installed.
    You could download everything there & it will still show the same updates available, so ignore it in that sense. Your update is available there however, downloaded it myself.
     
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.