XP Pro still hangs after rollback to original state

Status
Not open for further replies.
Today (Nov 25) I bought XP Pro and installed on my PIII, 512MB, with a 40GB (C:) and an 80GB HD (D:). Formerly had Win 98SE. Installed on C drive no problem; activated it by phone. I then installed Office Student and Teacher Edition 2003. I opened WORD, and the PC activated my copy over the internet which was now connected.

I then downloaded the windows updates which installed fine. I then rebooted my PC. XP hung (frozen mouse and no HD activity) at the country-scene following administrator logon.

I then found your website using another PC and followed the thread on booting up in safe mode (I am totally new to XP installs and any problems with XP!!) I rolled back to the configuration prior to Windows Updates (15 were made). Problem persisted. Rolled back to original config before office installed. Problem still persists. I cannot go any further back, this was the first thing I did with my new XP installation!

Any advice is very welcome! Surely XP should work after restoring to its original configuration?!

Sincerely, Mark

Solution

Problem finally solved - turns out XP had installed without deleting my previous Win 98SE install, and the office directories may have been conflicting. Having manually gone in and deleted these directories, XP finally worked, and office installed again with no trouble.

Its not clear from the XP initial install how to ensure XP does completely delete all the folders on the drive. All of my original files and programs from the Win98SE install were there and intact.

Hope this may be of help to someone.

regards,

Mark

Similar problem, but I still have it!

Please bear with this long explaination, but I need to be clear on the circumstances.

I recently upgraded my sisters PC from 98SE to XP.

It's an older Gateway 400Mhz, 128Mb machine that was cleared for XP through the capatability review from MS.