Julio 12-08-2003, 05:41 AM In case you didn't know, we just relaunched TS' newsletter, the first issue was sent just a few hours ago. I was wondering though, how many of you got this mail in your junk folder, this goes for both Hotmail (etc.) users and users that use spam filters of some sort.
PS: Just in case you didn't know, all users registered to the forums are automatically subscribed to the newsletter, however you can unsubscribe by following the link at the bottom of each mail sent.
Phantasm66 12-08-2003, 05:51 AM I got it in my official TS mail. But I guess you already knew that, and its not that helpful.
I did, however, find it very well presented and put together.
poertner_1274 12-08-2003, 02:32 PM I also read it this morning, and thought it was pretty nice to have back. I don't have any junk-mail filters setup, so it came straight to my inbox.
Keep it up Julio, things are looking good.
Didou 12-08-2003, 03:23 PM It looks pretty nifty. It's been a while since I recieved one so I thought maybe it was a new spam system that used the name of famous sites.
Maybe we should add something like funny quote of the week or something.;)
SNGX1275 12-08-2003, 04:36 PM My university has some server side spam flagging, the TS Newsletter however was not flagged as SPAM, it was delivered as normal.
Crazy 12-08-2003, 05:03 PM I didn't receve it:rolleyes: probebly because my spam filter where set to the hightest level. I lowerd them and I'll probebly get the mail from techspot again.
I wonderd why i wasn't getting anything comming from techspot. Stupid ISP had enabled it standard and i forgot that the option even existed.
Greets Crazy,
therealdeal329 12-09-2003, 09:15 AM yeah i have alot of people with problems with their isp blocking newsletters they get as spam.... atleast their trying to do something about... but it can block some emails that people asked to receive.. anyways i got my newsletter, looks good! :grinthumb
XtR-X 12-09-2003, 06:51 PM Yes, I got it sent strait to my MSN/Hotmail junk box. But nice newsletter!
poertner_1274 12-09-2003, 10:00 PM Just make sure you flag it as not spam, so you can read it every time it gets sent out :)
MrGaribaldi 12-10-2003, 05:23 AM I seem to recall setting MailWasher to accept mail from *@techspot.com...
At least it got through :)
And it's looking good! Wouldn't mind getting one of those every now and then (max once a week though)...
.02$
Per Hansson 12-14-2003, 07:35 AM Maiwasher listed it as "maybe spam" i.e. not highest level of spam but likley spam...
And Mailwasher only checks against databases of known spammers....
poertner_1274 12-14-2003, 01:13 PM That can't be a good thing :(
Nodsu 12-14-2003, 03:00 PM I think TS is circulating in some blacklists.
I couldn't browse TS from work at first: our proxy server at checks all requests against a known public blacklist and filters out TS also.. :( I checked the list, all I could figure out was that we are on the same subnet with some porn sites :p
Had to make myself an explicit rule on FW to be able to come here..
MrGaribaldi 12-14-2003, 03:10 PM Oops.. That's not too good news...
But then again, if it's just because we're on the same subnet as a pr0n site, it has mostly to do with laziness on the blacklist admin... Instead of finding out exactly what IP's the pr0n site uses, he just added the entire subnet...
Which is allmost like blocking all email from hotmail.com, since quite a lot of spammers like to spoof an addresse from there...
Julio 12-14-2003, 05:56 PM There is no doubt this is a problem many websites are facing due to people trying to fight spam (which I support).
Per Hansson 12-16-2003, 03:35 AM go to http://www.dnsstuff.com/ and type www.techspot.com into the "Spam database lookup"
You will see where Techspot has been banned
Bobbye 08-30-2007, 10:02 PM Hopefully someone is still subscribed to this thread.
I get the Neowin Newsletter but have trouble reading it in my OE email. I have HTLM checked but I can't find any way to link to the newsletter online for easier reading.
Can you tell me if there is a way to do this?
Thanks
Julio 08-31-2007, 07:40 PM Fast forward to 2007 seems the domain is in good standing now?
Daveskater 08-31-2007, 07:53 PM i'm getting my newsletters straight to my hotmail inbox so it seems to be going good :)
looking on dnsstuff.com techspot isn't listed on any blacklists so it looks like it's ok now :)
Bobbye 08-31-2007, 07:57 PM Julio, if you are replying to me, I am logged on to http://neowin.net/- that's not problem. I don't see any mention of 'newsletter' though except 'Subscribe' which I did some time ago. Is the newsletter the same as what's on the main site page?
I do get the newsletter in OE, but it's difficult to read there- don't see a link to bring it up on internet.
Edit to add text.
mailpup 09-03-2007, 09:54 PM I received my newsletter but the first one ever sent was filtered and I had to add it to my "safe" list.
ravisunny2 09-04-2007, 05:06 AM The Newsletter is great. It's the only thing I keep saved in my mailbox.
|