Cannot boot xp. ntfs.sys blue screen 0x00000024

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, newbie here.

I'm currently having the same problem as well.

XP won't boot up, not even in safe mode. Tried to get into the recovery/repair install section when booting from the XP CD,...still brings me to this

"STOP 0x00000024" blue screen. ntfs.sys - Address F7070746 base at F705F000

I tried to install win 2k on this same partition, but it says the drive needs to be formatted completely before installation can proceed. Should I try to install on a new partition on the same drive?

This is just frustrating. Thanks.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8x Deluxe, Crucial 1G DDR RAM, WD 320GB SE SATA

ok putting in my two cents here:)
i got the exact error that hed did(i went through every page and it seemed some faced other errors so) and i couldn't do the floppy disk thing because i don't have one on my rig.So that was out of the question from the start:(
i couldn't find a windows 2003 server cd either(question:if that works vista dvd should also work shouldn't it?)
so my first option was using the xp usb thingy,thought renaming ntfs.sys in that would stop the stop error lol boy was i wrong:p so bart PE windows was out of the question now :sigh: :sigh: (btw there were some people who could use it in this thread so obviously another error)....