ATI Radeon 9250 128 MB and Sony VAIO, problems!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, I am new to techspot. I have a basic Sony Vaio desktop computer and purchased a new Graphic card last summer to run World of Warcraft. This card was the ATI Radeon 9250, 128 MB. It had been working fine until about 2 months ago when my computer refused to start up. Eventually I figured out it was the graphic card and upon removing it was able to start up. Since then I have restored my system to the factory settings. Still, when I attempt to install the actual videocard and turn the CPU on, the fans go nuts but nothing else happens, no start up screen or anything. Is this a problem relating solely to the video card (i.e. is it shot and should I just buy a new one?) Please let me know if you have any suggestions either for fixing this problem, or if this is unrealistic, on purchasing a new entry level videocard that will both work with my current system and run WoW. Thanks all and have a great night! :slurp:

-- Conor

It would help if you posted some system specs, such as processor/memory.

If you're using a VAIO, chances are you have on-board video. This can cause problems with video cards that are PCI based. Just give us some insight onto your specs, and if you do(n't) have on-board video.

i'd expect as much from a vaio. sony, like all OEM makers, use parts of poor quality to maximize thier profits. usually it's the power supply that balks first in VAIOs, and this sounds like a supply problem.

what happens is that the supply is pushed to its limits right when the system is put together, and adding a part that draws extra power can easily overload the supply and cause it to fail even after a few weeks. because of sony's design, you cannot use a standard power supply to replace your existing OEM model.