Welcome to the TechSpot OpenBoards. Please read the FAQ if you have any questions. Sign up or Login to participate.
|
|||||||
Begin your free trial now
Pay-as-you-go options starting at $10/user/month
Pay-as-you-go options starting at $10/user/month
Windows XP Pro only $39.95!?, Can this be real?
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Windows XP Pro only $39.95!?, Can this be real?
Here is another scam that has been going around. They claim to be selling OEM versions of all types of software with no box or instructions and this is why it is so cheap!
Has anyone ever heard of them and if so are they real? Worth taking a risk? Your input would be greatly appreciated. The link appears below. I know that I'm not willing to risk sending them any money but that's just me! Thanks http://www.oemprospect.biz/faq.html |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Some of these places are quite legit. I don't know which ones are and aren't but I'm pretty sure most of the ones I've seen with ads in Computer Shopper and PC World magazines are probably legit, as they have been running for years.
|
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
No way.. Don't do it!
This seems like a rip-off to me... Let me tell you why: 1.) The payment section is not hosted on a secure site, so your credit card information is not encrypted or the least bit secure. 2.) There are no address listed for the business itself. 3.) Claims of "International shipping" sounds pretty bogus already. If this operation is overseas, there's no way to protect your credit card. 4.) The domains .biz and .info in conjunction with their "3rd-oem.info" address let's me know they haven't been around for awhile. February 12, 2004 to be exact. ![]() 5.) The domain was registered in China, which is notorious for fake softwares. They look good... (although often there are mispellings. ha!), but they are not holographic discs because they are not the real discs. If you order one and you actually receive it... I think you'll find this is a professional pirated version. I've seen them myself. 6.) And the shipment time of "up to 6 weeks" sounds completely bogus. Just enough to time to rip you off and void your ability to chargeback. Here's the domain registration information for www.oemprospect.com Give him a call. ![]() oemprospect.biz Domain Name: OEMPROSPECT.BIZ Domain ID: D6255610-BIZ Sponsoring Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT. LTD., (D.B.A. DIRECTI.COM) Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited Registrant ID: DI_294529 Registrant Name: Mika Lee Chung Registrant Organization: CN PROSPECTS UNDO LLC. Registrant Address1: jhueng str, 3/4, apt. 489 Registrant City: Katoma Registrant Postal Code: dsk346qbx Registrant Country: China Registrant Country Code: CN Registrant Phone Number: +99.8392894626 Registrant Email: whoi3emeng16@mail.com.cn Administrative Contact ID: DI_294529 Administrative Contact Name: Mika Lee Chung Administrative Contact Organization: CN PROSPECTS UNDO LLC. Administrative Contact Address1: jhueng str, 3/4, apt. 489 Administrative Contact City: Katoma Administrative Contact Postal Code: dsk346qbx Administrative Contact Country: China Administrative Contact Country Code: CN Administrative Contact Phone Number: +99.8392894626 Administrative Contact Email: whoi3emeng16@mail.com.cn Billing Contact ID: DI_294529 Billing Contact Name: Mika Lee Chung Billing Contact Organization: CN PROSPECTS UNDO LLC. Billing Contact Address1: jhueng str, 3/4, apt. 489 Billing Contact City: Katoma Billing Contact Postal Code: dsk346qbx Billing Contact Country: China Billing Contact Country Code: CN Billing Contact Phone Number: +99.8392894626 Billing Contact Email: whoi3emeng16@mail.com.cn Technical Contact ID: DI_294529 Technical Contact Name: Mika Lee Chung Technical Contact Organization: CN PROSPECTS UNDO LLC. Technical Contact Address1: jhueng str, 3/4, apt. 489 Technical Contact City: Katoma Technical Contact Postal Code: dsk346qbx Technical Contact Country: China Technical Contact Country Code: CN Technical Contact Phone Number: +99.8392894626 Technical Contact Email: whoi3emeng16@mail.com.cn Name Server: NS1.MOROZREG.BIZ Name Server: NS2.MOROZREG.BIZ Name Server: NS3.MOROZREG.BIZ Name Server: NS4.MOROZREG.BIZ Name Server: NS5.MOROZREG.BIZ Created by Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT. LTD., (D.B.A. DIRECTI.COM) Last Updated by Registrar: DIRECT INFORMATION PVT. LTD., (D.B.A. DIRECTI.COM) Domain Registration Date: Wed Feb 11 14:57:28 GMT 2004 Domain Expiration Date: Thu Feb 10 23:59:59 GMT 2005 Domain Last Updated Date: Wed Feb 11 14:57:33 GMT 2004 |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
yea,
I kinda figured as much. I just wanted to see if anyone here has had any experience with them. I didn't really need the software but was only curious. I think they are the same company that used to go by the name of CDCHEAP about 6 months ago. The prices are exactly the same. Thanks for the thorough investigation though. |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
lol......cremedies, your sig
![]() I dont see why microsoft doesnt give Mika a call. |
|
|
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
yea, well...I hope it's not a conflict of interest.
If someone says something...then I will address it. Take care. |
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Not to mention, notice the cute little line "This software is recognized as a backup software." while describing the media you'll recieve...
|
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
if its too good to be true, more likely than not, it is too good to be true. buyer beware.
|
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
He could be selling licenses with burned copies of the software.
Would this be legal? :\ |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hum....the site appears to be down.
Maybe he got jumped on by the authorites? Steg |
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
hehe...If so someone probably reported him to MS...
|
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
I reported him to his webhost. hehe!
|
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
LOL
|
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
|
|
#15
|
||||
|
||||
|
Well this is old news but XP Pro for $39.95 can be real:
Quote:
|
|
#16
|
||||
|
||||
|
http://www.oemprospect.biz/ dont even work for me...
you 'can' copy you're own media disks, but not distribute them, as in, for back up purposes only. Is he selling OEM software?... this can't be done anyway, without it being loaded by a computer OEM, on their premisis according to MS over here (UK). Though, if you've got an old PC... and you simply buy a new mouse and have someone load you a spanking (cheap) new copy of XP or whatever... thats legal!... I've just read this again, and it dont make much sense to me :P oh well... |
![]() |
| Similar Topics | ||||
| Topic | Replies | Forum | ||
Real difficulty uninstalling Windows Live Messenger
|
4 | Software Apps | ||
Need a stable plugin or codec for Windows Media Player 10 for Real Player web content
|
2 | Software Apps | ||
Windows Media & Real Player problem
|
6 | Software Apps | ||
Is There Anyway To Set Up A Real Home Network With Linux & Windows????
|
5 | Storage and Networking | ||
a real noob need real help
|
2 | Storage and Networking | ||
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 PM.





Real difficulty uninstalling Windows Live Messenger