Step-by step beginners guide to installing Ubuntu 10.04 Linux on your computer

Leeky

So I’ve noticed some interest in members trying out Linux since I’ve arrived here, so thought I would spend a bit of time and write a very detailed guide, with lots of pictures to help those considering it.

I’ll try to explain certain options and helpful hints along the way, so rather than just following the guide, you can understand the reasoning behind the decisions.

I’m not a professional, and the guide below is drawn from my experiences, and from what I have learned doing this myself. If there are any mistakes please draw my attention to them and I’ll correct as needed. I’ve tried to make this as simple as possible.

In this guide I will cover the installation of Ubuntu linux 10.04, 32bit version, from a live CD. The installation of Kubuntu versions, or 64bt versions is near enough identical.

Step 1:
So the first thing everyone should do is head to http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/download and download Ubuntu 10.04 Live CD. Just click the big orange Start download box.

Step 2:
Using your disc burning software, burn the .iso you downloaded to a CD.

Step 3:
Before you go any further, ensure all important data is backed up, in case of data loss on all your drives. This guide assumes you have media backups of your Windows partitioned hard drive, and you are safe to proceed.

Hint: Installing another operating system without first ensuring you have backups of your current files and operating system is a big risk. If you have no data to lose, or you’ve backed up important data, you’re now ready to proceed. I’m not responsible if you lose data.

Step 4:
Ensure you have a network cable connected, and restart your computer, and boot from the CD drive.

Step 5:
The Live CD will load up, and you’ll be presented by the following box:

Image%20001.jpg