PC or Mac (Digital Animation and 3D Art)

NoTTaShoT

Looking for anyone out there that may know more about computers in relation to Animation and 3D Art. It seems like a never ending debate on what's better. The PC or the Mac. Some will argue the Mac and others will fight to the death for the PC.

Putting gaming a side when comparing something like the

The Enthusiast's PC
https://www.techspot.com/guides/buying/page4.html

and

IMac 2.7ghz
http://store.apple.com/us/browse/ho...select?afid=p210|frgl&cid=AOS-US-SHOP-Froogle

Which one would you recommend? (keep in mind we are talking about art related software and programs)
I'd also like to be able to run multiple monitors comparable to the eyefinity setup that AMD has.

Or is there some other build you would recommend?

I'm a new student and have approx $1800 to spend on a computer for school. The package as to come with everything. I've also read that stacking a lot of RAM is essential for this sort of use out of a computer.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

I'm one of the few Apple users on this board, but I also own PCs. I'll also have to side with hellokitty[hk] and say to get a PC provided you (or someone you know) is comfortable building one.

Reasons for PC are its far more expandable and easier to access. You certainly don't want to upgrade the RAM on the iMac from the Apple Store, its far too expensive - adding extra RAM to the iMac itself is much more tedious. Hard drives in a PC are going to be faster if you go conventional route (negated if you go SSD on the iMac, but obviously SSD on PC is just as fast). Also, I think Apple may be forcing you to go with Apple approved/branded SSDs now, which is complete crap - also adding a lot to the cost.

Pros with the iMac: Decent screen, and you don't have to buy one with the comp. More elegant.