Norton AntiVirus 2005 does not support the repair feature

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have Windox XP Media Center. I downloaded the 2005 Norton AntiVirus on 1-6-05 and keep getting the following error.

"norton antivirus 2005 does not support repair feature. please reinstall"

I gone to a couple of tech websites and found that Norton designed this program so that you couldn't move the Icon from the Start menu nor install the program in any other place except the All Programs root file. Also I found that if you uninstall and reinstall you still run into the same problem anyway.

I'm not very good at all this technical stuff and am not one to change things around, the icon is still in the start menu and the program was installed in the All programs root file and I get this error message anyway.

Can someone give me some ideas.

same problem, your thread helped me out!

I got the same problem as you. I dragged my "norton antivirus startmenu folder" into another folder in the start menu and the problem as you mentioned started (when for instance I start MS word 2003 I got the same message, very anoying). After I read your message I decided to just drag the folder back to where it came from in the start menu. My problems ended there right away (when I tried again moving around the antivirus folder the problems again started).

I guess in your case unstalling and reinstalling should do the trick. Make sure all the folders and shortcuts from norton antivirus are removed as well. You can do this best by looking in:

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Menu Start
C:\Documents and Settings\user1\Menu Start
C:\Documents and Settings\........\Menu Start
etc.

and for every user remove the shortcuts. I think then reinstalling should be possible without having again the same problems.

I hope it works out fine for you.
Good luck.
Greetings Leo