Both DVD & CD burners suddenly not burning

Status
Not open for further replies.

billyellis

Hi there,

I recently went through a trojan removal with the help of this board, but I am still a newbie, so please forgive me if I commit any TS faux-pas...

Yesterday my DVD burner locked up at 22% of the project completed (green LED indicating reading of the disc solid on). I was using Disc Copier (Roxio) from another DVD I had burned previously, so I tried again, this time actually copying the files to the HD first and then using Easy Creator and it froze again at 22%.

Today I tried to burn a music CD on the CD-RW drive (my DVD drive stopped recognizing blank CDs a while ago), and that is also giving me error messages:

E8004139a: IDispatch error #4506
E80070057: The parameter is incorrect

This is happening before it even begins to burn. The disc is ejected and still shows up as a blank CD if I try again later.

Both drives have always worked fine. Lately I had the trojan and virus issues mentioned above, but both drives were working after that hassle. I am now running Ewido (including the Shield), as well as Ad-aware's Ad-watch in the background, though, so perhaps updates to those programs since could be involved?.

Other changes that are probably unrelated (but maybe not) are in Firefox, which is the most recent update (1.5.0.7). A few days ago Firefox stopped recognizing any of my customizations, and every time I reopen or open a new window it is in default layout/window size/etc. I can't remember if I have burned any DVDs since I installed that FF update a few days ago...