From "Extreme" Graphics 3D to Radeon 9250 PCI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hellspark

So hey everyone, I'm kind of a complete noob, but I need some help. I recently (like 30 min. ago) bought a Radeon 9250 PCI vid card. I was desperate for some kind of upgrade, and this looked pretty good and fit requirements as far as I could tell. Anyways I was trying to replace my relatively crappy "Extreme" graphics 3D crap that came integrated with my PC. So I followed all the instructions throughout the box and thought I would finally be able to see Master Chief in all his iradescent green glory, when I hit a roadblock. Nothing had changed. It was still running the same way. I poked around in the device manager and found the secion where my graphics stuff was. It listed my Extreme Graphics 3D, my Radeon, and Radeon (secondary). All of them were enabled. So I thought "hey, I'll just disable the Extreme and all my dreams will come true!" So I did, and it told me to restart. Once it was booted back up again, everything was really big, really pixely, and there were very few colors displaying. I tried changing the settings in Properties, but that changed nothing. Eventually I just enabled my old crap and things went back to normal. Please help me! Thanks

Hello and welcome to techspot.
Do you mean Intel Extreme Graphics?
generally we know what are the steps, like:
1. Uninstall and the drivers in device manager, DISABLE it then
2. Turn off
3. Insert the GPU card
4. Disable the IGP (Ext Graphics) in BIOS one more time
5. Install the ATI / nVidia software and device drivers (i.e catalyst)
6. restart

i know you have do the abovelisted method, but i didn't see above that you have install the ati drivers AFTER disabling EG.