Need help transferring files from old hard drive.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not sure anyone can take the time to explain this to me. I have an old HP computer that I have taken out the hard drive. (it has all my old music on it). I wanted to add the old drive (windows 98) to me new HP that has windows XP. I've been able to hook up the old drive and get onto it, but have been unsuccessful with converting the old files to my new computer. I am NEW at all this and am just quessing with all this. Please help. I do not have the disk to upgrade the windows 98

So you just want to have your hard drive from the 98 machine in your XP machine? Thats simple enough. You've already done all the hard stuff.

You need to look at the back of the hard drive in your XP machine (probably are going to have to take it out of the computer to do so) and make sure that the little plastic piece that is covering up/attached to 2 pins is set to the MA pins or Master. Then on your hard drive from the 98 machine, set it to SL or Slave. Put the drives back in your XP machine, connect them up (power and the big wide grey cable) and you should be all set.

You WILL NOT however be able to successfully run Windows98 on your XP machine and the programs off of that 98 drive, that is just something that cannot be done, not easily at least, and it would be FAR too much trouble to do.

What problems with files are you having specifically if you've already done what I outlined above.

Hope that helps. Also, read the thread in my signature if you get a chance, I think it will help you out in the future around here.

Hd

There could be two plastic pieces on the pins and there should be instructions on the hard drive on how to set the drive to slave (secondary hard drive) if there is not the hard drive makes website should explain how. I am not sure of any program to change the format of songs itunes maybe one [i know apple software is crap but it's worth a try]
regards