Welcome to the TechSpot OpenBoards. Please read the FAQ if you have any questions. Login to participate.
|
|||||||
Re: Your account on TechSpot OpenBoards has been locked
![]() |
| Thread Tools |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: Your account on TechSpot OpenBoards has been locked
Hi Admin,
Can someone enlighten me reference your E-mail today: Quote:
theplanet.com | Owner: ThePlanet.com Internet Services, Inc., United States, 1333 Stemmons Freeway, Suite #110, 75207, Dallas, TX | Server location: United States Is there a bug in the system as I know your "Bandwidth is by "THE PLANET" Anyone any ideas? as I can't think why anyone should want to h*ck into my account? Peace 8r1n |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
It seems you're not the only one having that problem. Searching the Web for that IP address returns more people on different forums having the same problem, with the same IP address. You should private message Julio and ask him about it; it's possible that he could block that IP.
Regards ![]() Edit: I've been doing more research and there are a lot of people at other places having the same problem. I tried to trace the route to the IP address, but eventually the requests just timed out. Ping requests don't work either. The weird thing is, this IP belongs to The Planet, a web hosting company; I don't think they are an ISP. So I guess all you can do is have a very strong password, not just word(s), but numbers and symbols mixed in. Last edited by kitty500cat; 06-20-2007 at 05:52 PM. |
|
|
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
kitty500cat,
Thanks for the heads up? I do have "alpha numeric" password now, perhaps that's why they didn't gain access. I will also try & do some checks myself now that I know it's not a TS bug? Peace 8r1n |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Just search Google for the IP and you'll see other threads about it. Hopefully Julio will see this thread soon.
Regards ![]() |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Have just been doing just that & you are correct many people are experiencing the same as myself, I suppose it's a full day tomorrow changing my Passwords on my many accounts! Luckily I don't have my Bank account details on this disk!
Peace 8r1n |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
I received many emails from users yesterday who had received that message and were trying to help, I have (hopefully) resolved that problem by banning that IP. I yet have to hear from more members since I took that measure.
|
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Julio,
Thank you very much for the Swift Action. I suppose it may be a good idea to inform other sites I belong to, is also ban the that IP? Peace 8r1n |
|
|
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Same problem new IP
Quote:
|
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
I have reported this to The Planet directly and banned the IP. Many users have emailed me reporting the same again.
|
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
Again- Password Stealer
I got the same message too for the second time! I started this post with the same problem. It has also happened on a Digital camera site I know, same IP!!
Here's what a whois threw up IP Information for 74.53.243.34 IP Location: United States Dallas Theplanet.com Internet Services Inc Resolve Host: 22.f3.354a.static.theplanet.com IP Address: 74.53.243.34 Blacklist Status: Clear Whois Record OrgName: ThePlanet.com Internet Services, Inc. OrgID: TPCM Address: 1333 North Stemmons Freeway Address: Suite 110 City: Dallas StateProv: TX PostalCode: 75207 Country: US ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.theplanet.com:4321 NetRange: 74.52.0.0 - 74.54.255.255 CIDR: 74.52.0.0/15, 74.54.0.0/16 NetName: NETBLK-THEPLANET-BLK-14 NetHandle: NET-74-52-0-0-1 Parent: NET-74-0-0-0-0 NetType: Direct Allocation NameServer: NS1.THEPLANET.COM NameServer: NS2.THEPLANET.COM Comment: RegDate: 2006-02-17 Updated: 2007-07-11 RTechHandle: PP46-ARIN RTechName: Pathos, Peter RTechPhone: +1-214-782-7800 RTechEmail: http://source.domaintools.com/email....3f1715a6986a84 OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE271-ARIN OrgAbuseName: Abuse OrgAbusePhone: +1-214-782-7802 OrgAbuseEmail: http://source.domaintools.com/email....df50b8def0352f OrgNOCHandle: TECHN33-ARIN OrgNOCName: Technical Support OrgNOCPhone: +1-214-782-7800 OrgNOCEmail: http://source.domaintools.com/email....3f1715a6986a84 OrgTechHandle: TECHN33-ARIN OrgTechName: Technical Support OrgTechPhone: +1-214-782-7800 OrgTechEmail: http://source.domaintools.com/email....3f1715a6986a84 == Additional Information From rwhois://rwhois.theplanet.com:4321 == network:Class-Name:network network:ID:THEPLANET-BLK-14 network:Auth-Area:74.52.0.0/15 network:Network-Name:TPIS-BLK-74-53-243-0 network:IP-Network:74.53.243.32/28 network:IP-Network-Block:74.53.243.32 - 74.53.243.47 network:Organization-Name:Brillant network:Organization-City:ROMORANTIN LANTHENAY network:Organization-Zip:41200 network:Organization-Country:FR networkescription-Usage:customer network:Server-Pri:ns1.theplanet.com network:Server-Sec:ns2.theplanet.com network:Tech-Contact;I:http://source.domaintools.com/email....df50b8def0352f network:Admin-Contact;I:http://source.domaintools.com/email....df50b8def0352f network:Created:20070713 network:Updated:20070713 network:Class-Name:network network:ID:THEPLANET-BLK-14 network:Auth-Area:74.52.0.0/15 network:Network-Name:TPIS-BLK-74-53-243-0 network:IP-Network:74.53.243.32/28 network:IP-Network-Block:74.53.243.32 - 74.53.243.47 network:Organization-Name:Brillant network:Organization-City:ROMORANTIN LANTHENAY network:Organization-Zip:41200 network:Organization-Country:FR networkescription-Usage:customer network:Server-Pri:ns1.theplanet.com network:Server-Sec:ns2.theplanet.com network:Tech-Contact;I:http://source.domaintools.com/email....df50b8def0352f network:Admin-Contact;I:http://source.domaintools.com/email....df50b8def0352f network:Created:20070713 network:Updated:20070713 I cannot understand the reason for it? as not much can be gained if anything. Just register for a account? unless it is some sort of "Deniel of Service Attack? 8r1n |
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
I have added those two IP Addresses to an IP Tables DROP, so now they wont be able to access the server at all on any port...
If any more of these abuses happen please e-mail me or Julio directly (I've also subscribed to this thread) |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
| Similar Topics | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Limited account vs Admin Account | GBE300 | Security and the Web | 5 | 10-12-2006 02:12 PM |
| How does one forward their outlook mail account to an aim.com mail account? | answer_seeker | Misc. Software & Utilities | 1 | 08-17-2006 04:49 AM |
| OpenBoards upgraded to 3.5 | swker98 | Site Feedback & Suggestions | 55 | 07-23-2006 09:43 PM |
| Might get locked, but I need help. | HylianNinja | Misc. Software & Utilities | 4 | 03-11-2006 09:14 AM |
| Main account gone and Administrator account useless | mr.pita | Windows OS | 1 | 09-03-2005 12:56 AM |
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 AM.




